Review of ‘Of Breakable Things’ by A. Lynden Rolland


Five ENCHANTING stars!!


Allow me to start off with the cover. Just look at it!!

16050312

Look at it again! Lol. This is one of the most beautiful covers (albeit slightly creepy) that I have ever seen. I must have stared at this a thousand times.

Magnifique!! <Cue standing ovation>


Summary

Alex Ash finally succumbs to death after suffering her entire life from a debilitating illness. Her final moments were filled with anguish from losing Chase Lasalle – a childhood friend whom she deeply admires. Once she enters the spirit world, she is given a choice of where she’d like to go. Door #1 means that she will forget every painful memory (and she has many) and get to start anew. She would live in comfort without regrets, pain, or sadness. However, she would also forget every good memory she had with Chase.

Door #2 would allow her to keep her memories, but it would also grant her the possibility of seeing Chase and the Lasalle brothers once again. Unfortunately, there is no guarantee that she will find peace and comfort there. The thought of not remembering sweet, chivalrous, strong Chase is unfathomable. After all, he was the reason why she was able to keep going despite living in a bad household and being teased over her condition. Needless to say, she chooses Door #2.

Alex winds up in Eidolon, but don’t mistake it with being Heaven because it’s not even close! Alex reunites with her beloved friends, but ends up finding a world filled with secrets, betrayal, and terror. Alex soon finds that this seemingly peaceful ghost town isn’t at all what it appears to be.


Review

I absolutely LOVED this book! I don’t think I can stress that enough. I swooned over Chase throughout its entirety. Alex is a beautiful soul who is still trying to grow accustomed to a completely different way of life while avoiding the dark creatures that lurk nearby. The final chapters had me at the edge of my seat! There’s one incident in particular that kept me awake at night.

Despite the aforementioned sections, I wouldn’t necessarily say this is a scary book. There were a few moments where it was, but most of the book centered on uncovering secrets and the relationship between Chase and Alex. So, if you’re the type of person who avoids horror books at all costs, I would suggest you still consider trying this book since it has a very beautiful story about love and overcoming obstacles.

I want to go into more detail, but I would rather not spoil anything. If you are looking for a book that has a unique and original plot – this is it! It has romance. It has suspense. It has action. It has a bit of horror.

This is one book that I can see being turned into a film adaptation successfully! Yes, it’s a completely made-up world, but A. Rolland wrote it in such a way that it is believable. I would also love it if there was a sequel. Most of my questions were answered, but I am still curious about a few things. Overall, I greatly enjoyed it (like I haven’t already made that obvious) and look forward to more books from this author!

Buy links:

Only 99 cents!

http://www.amazon.com/Breakable-Things-Lynden-Rolland-ebook/dp/B00ILZ69IS/ref=sr_1_1_twi_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1420947286&sr=1-1&keywords=of+breakable+things

Leave a Reply

