Graphic Novels – Yay or Nay??


I have been quite the voracious reader for as long as I can remember, but for some reason I have never really been into graphic novels.

giphy

It’s not that I didn’t like their style of story-telling, I just always equated them with being what boys read. Silly thinking, I know….

Well this year, I, along with my book club (Hi ladies!! – “waves”), decided to partake in the 2015 Popsugar Reading Challenge. It’s pretty simple. Basically, you read a total of 50 books throughout the year, but the whole point is to expand your interests and have you explore different book genres/reading styles. Remember, it’s all about having fun! Don’t feel as if you’re obligated to finish the full 50 books. If you can’t make the goal, that’s totally okay! Don’t feel as if you have to rush to make your goal or as if you have to put aside other responsibilities just to get some reading in. If you start to do all of that then it becomes less of an enjoyment and more of a chore.

I’ll go ahead and post it on here in case you’d like to play along as well.

IMG_6317-390x390

Alrighty then, I’m getting a bit off topic here. So what is the connection between graphic novels and the challenge? Well, that should be quite obvious. Reading a graphic novel is part of the reading challenge.

I’m not going to lie, I was a bit hesitant to fulfill this requirement as I simply have never been interested in graphic novels before. Some people are going to hate me for what I’m about to say, but I wasn’t a big fan of the Walking Dead Compendium despite being a huge fan of the show. I mean, I liked it but not enough to continue with the graphic novel.

Anyway, I wanted all of the books for this challenge to be new to me. In other words, no re-reads so that immediately excluded The Walking Dead. So there I went, searching and searching for a graphic novel that would catch my interest.

keyboardsmash

I wasn’t sure what I was looking for exactly. I just wanted a cover or a title to grab me from the very beginning. Thankfully, a couple of them did just that!

My first discovery, was titled Pandora: End of Days

http://www.amazon.com/PANDORA-Zombie-Survival-Horror-Graphic-ebook/dp/B00990PAQQ

It may sound a bit cheesy to some people, but I love scary subjects. I’m a huge fan of horror and gore and yes, especially zombies so End of Days immediately sparked my interest. It is also free to read for Amazon Prime members so that was a huge plus! Especially since I wasn’t sure whether I would like it or not.

I blazed through it!!! That is just how much I enjoyed it! The artwork was beautiful with intricate details. The story was well-written and kept my interest all throughout. I read it on my Kindle Paperwhite. Naturally, I worried that the graphics would not be displayed well on the black and white screen, but I had no issues whatsoever.

The challenge states that you only have to read, at least, one graphic novel but I found myself looking for more that same day. I then encountered one called Artifice.

http://www.amazon.com/Artifice-Alex-Woolfson-ebook/dp/B00E4A27TY/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1423425221&sr=1-1&keywords=artifice+graphic+novel

I devoured this one! It was also very well-done!


Needless to say, my viewpoint on graphic novels has completely changed! I am more than eager to read more than just the couple that I have.

Moral of the story is, always keep your mind wide open. Don’t make the same mistake I did of assuming you won’t like something without giving it a shot first. You might just end up with a new favorite pastime.

J_Lawrence_Wink

Leave a Reply

