May Book Haul!!


It feels like an eternity since I have been on here! This semester dragged me to hell and back. I have not been able to read for months, but alas, school is almost over! Only two more weeks of torture to go lol.


So let me tell you all about my day today. Picture this: there I was minding my own business in the public library with my two best friends as we prepared for a presentation about therapy techniques when all of a sudden the most glorious sign came into my line of sight. It read, “GIANT USED BOOK SALE

My eyes just about popped out of my head. I’m not even exaggerating. I am Queen of Procrastination, but I rushed and worked hard to get through our presentation preparation so I could have an hour before they closed to buy some books.

The library had two enormous rooms overflowing with paperbacks and hardcover books. Some were bestsellers, some were from little known authors, and others from local authors. I bought ten books, but if I had carried more money with me I guarantee you I would have walked out with twice as much lol.

One of my friends is just getting into reading so she only bought two books and my poor other friend was obviously out of her element because she looked bored out of her mind. Oh if she only knew the magic books held within….

Without further ado, I’ll go ahead and show you which books I purchased ๐Ÿ™‚


#1. The Client by John Grisham (paperback)

93419151_550a9a2e176b0

I have encountered this particular book on many occasions over the years. I loved the movie! However, I have had mixed reactions to John Grisham’s books. I enjoyed his book, “A Time to Kill”, but absolutely abhorred, “The King of Torts”. So I picked this book up and then put it down and then picked it back up. I just couldn’t decide whether I wanted to take another chance on this author, but then the librarian told me it only costed 50 cents so I grabbed it! I’m really hoping it lives up to my expectations.


#2. The Perfect Storm by Sebastian Junger (paperback)

ThePerfectStorm

I have not read any books by this author, but I loved the movie and this book made it to the New York Times Bestseller list so I can’t wait to read it!


#3. Mean Justice by Edward Humes (paperback)

download

This is yet another book by an author I haven’t read before. However, this book won a Pulitzer Prize!


#4. Firelight by Sophie Jordan (soft cover)

MedFirelight

I’m not even going to lie. The only reason I got this book was because I fell in love with the cover, but after reading the synopsis it seems like my type of book!


#5. Basic Instinct by Richard Osborne (hardcover)

1421513

I’ll admit that I’m a little iffy about this book mainly because it’s based on the movie and according to other reviews it is supposedly a copy of the movie script. Some people might be turned off by this but since I’ve never seen the movie I’m willing to give it a shot (it was only $1 so why not?)


#6. The Dangerous Days of Daniel X by James Patterson (hardcover)

200px-The_Dangerous_Days_of_Daniel_X

Say what you will about James Patterson, but I have, personally, never been disappointed by his books. Some people will say his writing is mediocre but, well, I’ve never gotten that impression.


#7. Watch Them Die by Kevin O’Brien (hardcover)

n161164

I guess I was feeling pretty adventurous today judging by the number of books I bought from unknown authors, but the synopsis really caught me eye! I love a good mystery!


#8. The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown (hard cover)

books.02

I think everyone and their dogs have read this book except for me. I hope it’s as good as they say it is! I’m going into this completely blind as I have not read anything from this author nor seen the movie!


#9 Death Angel by Linda Howard

2067180

I adore Linda Howard. She is one of my go-to authors that I just grab anything with her name on it. I fell in love with the cover and bought it without even reading the synopsis. All of the books I have read from her have all gotten 5 stars from me!


#10. This last one is going to be of little interest to anyone as it is a German grammar book lol I’m currently trying to learn German. The type of career I’m going into requires dealing with people of all nationalities so I figure the more languages I know the better!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. marymartel says:

    Super jealous! The Client is really good!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think that’ll be the second book I read after yours! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m going to make another post tomorrow including all the ebooks I’ve collected for the past couple of months and yours will be added too ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

