Review of ‘Anna and the French Kiss’ by Stephanie Perkins


I just finished reading Anna and the French Kiss and thought I’d share my thoughts of it with you today.

This novel has been recommended to me SO many times for the last 5 years that I have officially lost count. I don’t know why I never really wanted to read it before. I guess it seemed like the type of book that would not be to my liking. Perhaps one designed for much younger readers. I don’t know, but I saw that it was available in ebook format at my library and figured now would be as good a time as any to pick it up.

Boy, am I so glad I did!! 

Can_i_get_a_hallelujah


Anna is a 17 year old American who is shipped off to Paris to attend a prestigious boarding school. She hates the fact that she is being forced to go to a foreign country so far away from her family, her friends, and Toph – the hottie she was just starting to get close to. Alas, it is not up to poor Anna as her father is a rich and best-selling author who wants her to be cultured.

She meets a group of teenagers that she immediately bonds with – Meredith, St. Clair, Rashmi, and Josh. Things are fun for awhile and she is really enjoying her experiences in Paris until she starts to have feelings for St. Clair. The only problem is his girlfriend.

And then there’s the other thing

The thing I’m trying to ignore.

The thing I shouldn’t want, the thing I can’t have. 

And he’s standing in front of me now. 

So what do I wish for? Something I’m not sure I want? 

I’m not sure I need? Or someone I know I can’t have?

Screw it. Let the fates decide.

I wish for the thing that is best for me.


This was a fantastic book!! I could not put it down. It’s fun and well-written and has already been added to my list of books to buy in paperback.

It’s the type of book that I would recommend to anyone who needs a good pick-me-up story. Despite my worries that it would be much better suited for a younger crowd – I didn’t get that impression while reading it. I felt that they were a very mature group of teens who try to make the best of their situations.

I especially liked that it felt so realistic. These are not perfect human beings that are like God’s gift to earth. They have their flaws, they have their insecurities, they have their own sets of problems. It’s the type of novel that helps you relate to the characters.

Overall, I would give this book a rating of 4.5 stars. I recommend it to all.

http://www.amazon.com/Anna-French-Kiss-Stephanie-Perkins/dp/0142419400

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Thanks for this great review 🙂
    I’ve been looking and considering this book/series, and I think I might pick it up now. It did sort of seem like YA Chick Lit to me, so I’m really glad you came out and said that it really wasn’t. It sounds really interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 🙂 yes, I really had no interest in reading it at first. Honestly if I hadn’t seen it at the library I probably never would have picked it up lol

      Like

  2. kathkendrick says:

    Wait til you read Lola and the Boy Next Door and Isla and the Happily Ever After. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can’t wait to get my hands on those! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

