Review of ‘The Start of Me and You’ by Emery Lord

on

I’ll try and keep this as short as possible, but honestly I could rave about this book for days!!

I didn’t know what to expect from this novel. I had never heard of it before nor had I ever read anything by that author before. My expectations were not that high. I read it mainly because the synopsis caught my attention.


Paige Hancock is a young girl barely starting her junior year of high school. She should be having the types of problems that are typical for other girls her age: boy problems, acne, getting her driver’s license, etc. Unfortunately for Page, she has had to deal with her parents’ divorce and the drowning of her boyfriend Aaron.

A year has passed since he died, but in their small town it is almost impossible to escape the looks of pity from virtually everyone. Paige decides that she needs to move on with her life and stop the grieving process so she makes a plan. A plan with the things she believes would help her move forward. They include getting past her fear of swimming, becoming more sociable, joining a group, and oh yeah, kissing Ryan Chase – the most popular boy in school and the guy she’s had a crush since the 8th grade.

Things start to become confusing for her when she meets Max, Ryan’s cousin. A nerdy teenager who recently switched schools due to a rise in bullying. At first, she dismisses him as nothing more than a friend, but the more she gets to know him the more she starts to see his potential as boyfriend material. But by the time she realizes that, will it be too late??


I ADORED this book!! I began reading it late at night and imagine my surprise when I finally read the last word only to look up and realize the sun had already risen.

This book has SO much heart and soul to it. It made me wish I had a group of friends as loving as the one that Paige has. And Max – oh Max – how I wish there were more of you.

Emery did a fantastic job of helping me connect with the characters. I laughed. I cried. I hoped. It was an emotional rollercoaster all throughout and I wouldn’t change it for the world.

This novel was a pleasant surprise and I am already recommending it to as many of my friends as possible. Now I bid you adieu as I am exhausted lol. The readathon shall commence once I wake up! 😉

Leave a Reply

