Review of ‘Switched’ by Amanda Hocking

on

I finished reading this book in one day and was pleasantly surprised. Although I love reading books that are filled with fantastic new worlds, this was the first novel I had ever read about trolls – yes, that’s right – trolls! Therefore, I wasn’t sure whether or not I would even like it.


Wendy Everly is a 17 year old girl. Despite being raised by a rich family, she experienced a difficult and traumatic upbringing. Her father committed suicide and her mother attempted to kill Wendy when she was only 6 years old. Ever since then, she has been expelled from several schools and has never managed to make any friends.

Wendy encounters a young man named Finn who turns her world upside down. Suddenly, she is faced with life-altering decisions and dangerous confrontations. Everything she thought she knew turned out to be a well-orchestrated lie.


I have never read anything by Amanda Hocking before. Nor had I heard anything about this series prior to buying it. I came across the paperbacks and thought they were stunning!!! Seriously authors, take note! Those covers are fantastic and a great way to draw attention to your books. Plus, it didn’t hurt that they were slightly used and only $7 for all three.

The-Trylle-Trilogy-Switched-Torn-Ascend

Well, they sat on my bookshelf collecting dust along with several other books on my TBR list for several months. Once I started choosing books from that same bookshelf to read for the RYBSAT readathon, I figured it was the best time to get started on the first one, at least.

Initially, I was not too happy with the writing. Mainly because I wasn’t really given a chance to get to know Wendy in her normal life before she was plunged into the new one. It happened so quickly that it felt a bit forced. The transition wasn’t the best.

On the other hand, that is really the only complaint that I have about the entire novel. Amanda has a fantastic way of building up a new world and making it seem possible that Forening (the city where the Trylle [aka Trolls] reside) actually may exist.

Wendy is a complicated character. When there were flashbacks to her childhood, I thought she was incredibly bratty and self-absorbed. Once she’s in her teenage years, it is obvious that she has changed for the better and appears to have matured to some extent.

I really liked Finn as well. There were a few moments when he irritated me because he seems so duty-bound, but that is an honorable trait to have nonetheless.

Overall, I rated this book 4.5 stars because it was an enjoyable read. I cannot wait to see what the future holds for those two in the other two installments to the Trylle series.

http://www.amazon.com/Switched-Trylle-Novel-Amanda-Hocking/dp/1250006317

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Love Amanda Hocking’s books. 🙂 hope you enjoy reading them all

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 🙂 I have been so far 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

