Top 5 books that I would never read!

on

I’ve seen this particular book tag going around on WordPress and GoodReads and a whole lot of other social media sites all day. I thought I’d go ahead and do it too since it seems pretty fun!

I was a bit hesitant to do this, because I don’t like using the word “never”. It’s mainly because I don’t know how I’ll feel about a particular book in 5 years, so just for today I’m going to be referring to how I feel about these books right now and my lack of interest in reading them at the moment.

#1Β Lolita by Vladimir Nabakov

I have gone back and forth with this novel for many years and still haven’t been able to find the courage to pick it up. I have heard great things about it and how it was fantastically written. It is considered a classic even though it was banned once upon a time. It held a lot of appeal for me when I first heard about it, but upon reading reviews and seeing just how scandalous it was I quickly changed my mind. Y’ll know the types of books I read! I’m okay with scandalous material, but this was a little too much even for me. The entire book is mainly about a middle-aged man who is a pedophile and seduces a woman in order to get to her 12 year old daughter. I’ve seen reviews for it and reading about him raping a child and falling in love with her is not something I want to do……Ever.

#2 Allegiant by Veronica Roth

I actually started this book shortly after it was released, but I, inadvertently, ran into a spoiler that just about destroyed me. I skipped to the end to see if it was true and, sadly, it was. I hated the way that it ended and it ruined the entire series for me. What was once an obsession became nothing more than another series that I wasn’t too eager to read again. I still love Divergent and Insurgent; don’t get me wrong, but I would rather erase Allegiant from my memory. I don’t plan on reading it in its entirety.

#3 Bait by M. Mabie

Again, I read a few pages of this book because I listened to all the hype of how amazing it was and it immediately left a bad taste in my mouth. I couldn’t understand where all the 5 star reviews were coming from. The main characters were complete idiots and extremely unlikeable. Two people just looking for any excuse to cheat on their significant others. I don’t have a problem reading about cheating per se, but it was the way they went about it that drove me insane. I’m not saying that there is everΒ a good excuse, but basically saying, “whoopsie, I had a tiny sip of beer therefore I’m drunk right? So yeah I can cheat”. Ok that’s not exactly what was said, but that is an excuse that was used.Β I don’t even think I made it past the 2nd chapter. I never want to even touch that book again; much less read it.

#4 The Secret by Rhonda Byrne

My friend loved this book. Why? I have no idea and I don’t care to find out. This book proposes to teach you how to “obtain massive wealth” and just the overall concept of it irritates me. In case yer wondering, my friend has not found that wealth yet…Nuff said.

#5 The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

I don’t necessarily have anything wrong against this book especially since I’ve never attempted to read it before. I just haven’t been able to muster up the slightest bit of interest in reading it after all these years. I saw the movie. Liked some of it, but then it just dragged on and on. I don’t see myself ever picking it up.

Well, that’s it! I hope my blatant honesty wasn’t too much for you. Let me know in the comments what you’re 5 books are. πŸ™‚

6 Comments Add yours

  1. vanchula says:

    Hey, I didn’t know where else to leave a message. I’m new to this. I just wanted to say Thanks. For following my blog. You’re kind of my first follower and it’s an absolutely exciting and encouraging thing to see that notification. My sister just went nuts and is jumping up and down that I got my first follower. I hope you like my blog. Please read more. Thanks again.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi πŸ™‚ it’s so nice to meet you! I read your poem called “If Looks could Kill” and thought it was fantastic! You’re really talented! πŸ™‚ I’m a bit new as well. I’ve been on here only a few months. Using tags and categories helps out tremendously to expand your amount of followers. Let me know if I can help at all. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. vanchula says:

        Thanks. I only started yesterday and am still figuring things out. And thanks for the tips as well. I may hold you to that. πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Lol I’m happy to help if any questions should arise. I was a bit confused when I first started and sometimes I still find new things to do on here lol

        Liked by 1 person

      3. vanchula says:

        I know right. πŸ˜‚ I’m still reeling over the fact that I actually had the guts to start a blog.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Lol same here, I think I spent about a year debating whether or not I should get one, but I’m glad I finally gave in. 😜

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

