Unpopular Opinions Book Tag!

on

I was tagged by Erika in Bookventureland (Awesome book blog – go check it out!) I have been wanting to do this tag for SO long!! Y’ll have seen my reviews! I’m the Queen of Unpopular Opinions lol. I’m known for writing very honest reviews.

With that said, I want to remind everyone that we are not always going to agree on something and that is totally okay. That’s what makes each and every single one of us unique. These are just my opinions on particular books. I’m not discouraging anyone from reading any of the books listed here. In fact, I encourage you to read them and decide for yourselves.

Alrighty then, enough of that. Let’s get this tag rolling!

Popular book or series you didn’t like:

a-game-of-thrones-book-1-of-a-song-of-ice-and-fire

These books are extremely long and I didn’t like the first one. I couldn’t get into it. I put it down, tried again several months later with the same result. I’ve only gotten a little more than halfway through. I got ahead of myself and purchased the first three books and I haven’t even finished the first one and don’t see that happening any time soon.

A popular book or series that everyone seems to hate, but you love:

Gone_Girl_(Flynn_novel)

This is one of my favorite books! I was taken aback by how many people hated it. I think this is one of the few times that I was actually rooting for the villain in the story and I’m not talking about Nick 😉

A love triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with OR an OTP that you don’t like:

71GXQFa+RRL

This one is tricky, because although I was initially rooting for Guy #1, about halfway through the series I started rooting for Guy #2. Which is kind of funny since I hated Guy #2 for many reasons, but then I sort of fell in love with him…. yeah, that doesn’t sound weird at all.

A popular book genre that you hardly reach for:

Historical fiction is a genre that I tend to avoid like the plague. I have tried reading a few books in that genre – books that were highly rated and praised – alas, I couldn’t stand them. I figure this genre is just not for me…

A popular or beloved character that you do not like:

9781593080259_p0_v4_s260x420

I loved this book, but this character was so self-absorbed and disgraceful.

A popular author you can’t seem to get into:

I’m gonna go with Holly Black. So many people rave about her books, but I just don’t like her style of writing. It’s not that it’s bad – it just doesn’t sit well with me <shrugs>

A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing (Examples, “lost princess”, corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc)

There are so many, but I’ll go with the whole idea of falling in love with your stepbrother. I haven’t read any of those books, but just because one author got popular for writing that plot, suddenly EVERYONE is jumping on the bandwagon. I’m so sick and tired of seeing my Amazon page littered with those books. Stepbrother this and Stepbrother that. Talk about a lack of originality…

A popular series that you have no interest in reading:

51tU8iaaHqL

I know I’m going to get so much hate for this, but I just have no interest in reading these books whatsoever. I have seen them time and time again at the library or at the bookstore and I ALWAYS choose something else.

The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

2429135I LOVED the movie! Maybe I’m a bit biased since I saw the movie before reading the book, but I found the book to be a huge disappointment. I found it pretty boring and overloaded with a bunch of details that really didn’t matter much. It was just “meh”.

I tag all of my followers!! 🙂 I’m really too lazy to individually tag you all so there you go lol.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Erika says:

    Yay you did the tag! 🙂

    I’ve always been hesitant on reading Game of Thrones because I feel like I will get bored with it. It’s on my TBR though. HAHA

    I don’t hate Gone Girl; however, I did try reading it and couldn’t get into it so it’s left unfinished. But I recently got a physical copy of the book( I read e-book version first) for a cheap price so I may just give it another try.

    I have not read The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo but I do have the entire trilogy though for some reason I can’t get myself to read them. I have yet to watch the movie as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol that’s exactly what happened with me. I got bored with it. I’m at a standstill because I want to see the show but I want to read the books first so it’s a no-win situation for me lol the beginning of Gone Girl was slow and I considered putting it down as well, but once it got going I was hooked! 🙂 I bought the entire trilogy as well so I’m really bummed I didn’t enjoy The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo that much. I think I gave it 3 stars. Idk when I’ll get around to reading the other two lol

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Erika says:

        Haha I think the show will probably appeal to me more than the books since I actually knew the TV show even before the books.

        I feel The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo is one of those books that you either will love or hate.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m guilty of watching the first few episodes and I was instantly addicted! I had to force myself away. I think I’ll just forego the books and stick to the show lol
        Definitely one of those books!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved Gone Girl! It was one of the best books I’ve ever read. It was so twisted and unpredictable. Most people I know thought it was okay or flat out hated it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! I’ve read so many thrillers and they tend to have similar endings, but I never saw that ending coming! I loved how original it was! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Totally agree with the whole stepbrother thing! I mean, why is this supposed to be sexy?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Right?! It’s actually kind of creepy lol 😳

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

