Throwback Thursday


Every Thursday, I will be posting a review of a book that I read quite awhile back. This is the first segment so I feel the book should be one that is a bit underrated. This book does not have the greatest ratings online. The average GoodReads rating is a 3.8 and there is an abundance of bad reviews for it, but I thoroughly enjoyed it!

That book would be The Quickie by James Patterson.

lg-quickiePPBI know, I know. The title makes it sound so sleazy and filled with erotic scenes. I assure you it is not that at all. I bought this paperback as an impulse buy back in 2013. I was at a used bookstore and was intrigued by the blurb. Try imagining the expression of the elderly, extremely conservative, church-going woman who had to ring up my purchase. Awwwkward.

There were plenty of surprises in the book so I don’t want to ruin that for you. Therefore, I’ll keep my review spoiler-free and as short as possible.

Lauren Stillwell begins to suspect that her husband is cheating on her. She tries to repeatedly convince herself that she’s wrong, but that nagging feeling just won’t leave her. She decides to track him down on his supposed business trip and witnesses him leaving a hotel with another woman.

Some women would have broken down crying; some would have confronted him on the spot and slapped him in public, but not Lauren… Oh no, Lauren decides to take a completely different approach. She begins to wonder what the best possible form of revenge could be to get back at him? He should feel the betrayal she felt. He should feel as heartbroken as she did, so she decides to have an affair. It’s not going to be an ongoing relationship; it’s not going to mean anything at all; it’ll just be a one-night stand, a quickie.

Shortly after the deed is done, things go horribly wrong. What should have been a night for her to get her frustrations out, turns out to be a complete nightmare. Lauren finds herself unraveling as she ends up being romantically tied to a violent and dangerous man. The worst part of it all? She’s an NYPD cop in charge of tracking that same man down for a vicious crime.

So what should she do? Tell the police what she knows and expose her infidelity to the whole world? Or should she just comply with the demands of that dangerous man?

I rated this book 5 stars. I’m sure there are a few people who would disagree with me, but I loved it! I was hooked from beginning to end. As with any James Patterson book, it goes by rather quickly and is an intense fast-paced story. But don’t take my word for it, feel free to check it out of the library or perhaps you’ll see it at a second-hand bookstore. I think it would be worth your while.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Erika says:

    Haha when I saw the title of the book (didn’t read who the author was) not so innocent thoughts came to mind. lol But then I saw James Patterson as the author for this book and I was like “there is no way James Patterson would be writing erotica” xD

    On another note this sounds interesting. I have quite a few James Patterson books and so far only read like one or two of his written works.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think that’s what the lady thought too lol. 😂 She probably felt the need to wash her hands afterwards lol but the sex part was extremely mild and short. The title is probably the dirtiest part of the book lol I think I’ve read about 6 of his books and enjoyed most of them. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

