Review of ‘Hidden Bodies’ by Caroline Kepnes


images

Hidden Bodies is a continuation of the story told in You and I was not disappointed! I raved about how much I enjoyed You and I could not wait to get my hands on Hidden Bodies.

Something that I really enjoyed about You was the inner monologue from Joe, our protagonist. We get that same inner monologue that shows just how little control Joe has over his violent rages.

On the other hand, it was a bit different than You, because we were introduced to a multitude of interesting characters. There is a lot more dialogue in Hidden Bodies than there was in You. Most of them were rather entertaining while others seemed somewhat like fillers which is why I deducted a star.

Another thing that irked me was the title. I agree with many other reviewers who believe the original one-word title was better. This one is a bit generic and cliche. While the other is much more fitting and mysterious. I’m not sure if this is the official cover for the book since it’ll be a little while before it is released, but it’s not at all memorable or captivating like You was. I’m hoping she’ll reconsider those two before it is released. I’m not saying this to be cruel, but Joe’s life is so interesting and dynamic that I would hope the cover and title reflect that as well.

Joe is in a completely different environment and experiencing a lifestyle that he is not accustomed to so it is interesting to see if he is able to adjust to so many new challenges.

I must give Caroline credit at being able to capture the reader’s attention and hold it from beginning to end. Within the first few pages, I was hooked! I also liked how she was able to tie in both books together with some recurring characters.

Despite that crazy ending, it would appear that we have not seen the end of our favorite stalker, Joe.

I highly recommend it to anyone who is a fan of thrillers! 4 stars!

**ARC obtained from Netgalley**

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Zezee says:

    Wait, are you saying there’s more to come? At first when I realized that this story would be a series, I wondered if it would hold up well over a number of books but then I thought maybe it would only have a sequel and that be it. I’ll look forward to this one though. I’d assumed that it was already out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yup, I believe it’ll be a trilogy but I haven’t read an official announcement yet. This book was supposed to be released in September but they pushed it back to January 2016 if I’m not mistaken :/ I enjoyed it 🙂 the ending was really unexpected!

      Like

      1. Zezee says:

        That’s so tempting. I’m placing it on my TBR.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Awesome! I’d love to know what you think of it 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

