Review of ‘Twisted Dark’ Graphic Novel


23923241

I have not read the two volumes prior to Volume 3, but I don’t think that I needed to in order to follow along. With that said, after reading this volume I MUST get my hands on those other two volumes because it was just THAT good! I devoured it in about an hour.

Twisted Dark is a bunch of short stories involving different characters from different backgrounds (rich, poor, young, old). In my opinion, it was reminiscent of The Twilight Zone which is known for its fantastic and creepy story-telling. They were similar because they both have the tendency to frighten you and make you think outside the box.

The creators of this graphic novel pulled together the seven deadly sins (lust, envy, gluttony, wrath, etc) and designed these incredibly dark, but marvelously written events.

What I especially enjoyed about it was that they did not create a bunch of extremely violent pictures that were pointless. That was the most chilling part of it all. They took the most basic human instincts (love, hatred, sadness) and created a frightening picture of things that, unfortunately, happen all the time all around the world.

They scored huge points for including a few actual facts of real-life events or quotes that added to the overall effect of that particular story.

I wish I could break down each story for you, but then this would be a hundred pages long. I highly recommend it if you are interested in graphic novels that involve the macabre.

It is definitely not for people who are overly-sensitive to graphic violence.

**ARC was obtained from Netgalley**

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Anonymous says:

    I think you can read the first half of volume 1 for free here: http://goo.gl/uQuAfr

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’ll check it out 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

