Top Ten Books On My TBR For Summer 2015


Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

This was a toughy! I wasn’t sure I’d be able to keep it to only 10. Yes guys, I have THAT many books on my TBR.

In no particular order:

1. Song of David by Amy Harmon

25361480

I need this book so badly!! Let’s first mention just what an amazing writer Amy Harmon is! Plus, I loved The Law of Moses which is one my favorite books ever! Both books can be read as standalones but it is strongly recommended that you read The Law of Moses first to avoid any spoilers.

SYNOPSIS:

She said I was like a song. Her favorite song. A song isn’t something you can see. It’s something you feel, something you move to, something that disappears after the last note is played.

I won my first fight when I was eleven years old, and I’ve been throwing punches ever since. Fighting is the purest, truest, most elemental thing there is. Some people describe heaven as a sea of unending white. Where choirs sing and loved ones await. But for me, heaven was something else. It sounded like the bell at the beginning of a round, it tasted like adrenaline, it burned like sweat in my eyes and fire in my belly. It looked like the blur of screaming crowds and an opponent who wanted my blood.

For me, heaven was the octagon.

Until I met Millie, and heaven became something different. I became something different. I knew I loved her when I watched her stand perfectly still in the middle of a crowded room, people swarming, buzzing, slipping around her, her straight dancer’s posture unyielding, her chin high, her hands loose at her sides. No one seemed to see her at all, except for the few who squeezed past her, tossing exasperated looks at her unsmiling face. When they realized she wasn’t normal, they hurried away. Why was it that no one saw her, yet she was the first thing I saw?

If heaven was the octagon, then she was my angel at the center of it all, the girl with the power to take me down and lift me up again. The girl I wanted to fight for, the girl I wanted to claim. The girl who taught me that sometimes the biggest heroes go unsung and the most important battles are the ones we don’t think we can win.


2. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard17878931

This has been on my TBR for so long! It’s absolutely ridiculous that I haven’t gotten around to it yet, but I will!! And the cover!!!! I love it so hard!

SYNOPSIS:

The poverty stricken Reds are commoners, living under the rule of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers.

To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from The Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change.

Mare finds herself working in the Silver Palace, at the centre of
those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control.

But power is a dangerous game. And in this world divided by blood, who will win?


3. Wicked by Jennifer L. Armentrout

22895264

Seriously, I suck. This is yet another one that has been sitting on my kindle for a very long time…

SYNOPSIS:

Things are about to get Wicked in New Orleans.

Twenty-two year old Ivy Morgan isn’t your average college student. She, and others like her, know humans aren’t the only thing trolling the French Quarter for fun… and for food. Her duty to the Order is her life. After all, four years ago, she lost everything at the hands of the creatures she’d sworn to hunt, tearing her world and her heart apart.

Ren Owens is the last person Ivy expected to enter her rigidly controlled life. He’s six feet and three inches of temptation and swoon-inducing charm. With forest-green eyes and a smile that’s surely left a stream of broken hearts in its wake, he has an uncanny, almost unnatural ability to make her yearn for everything he has to offer. But letting him in is as dangerous as hunting the cold-blooded killers stalking the streets. Losing the boy she loved once before had nearly destroyed her, but the sparking tension that grows between them becomes impossible for Ivy to deny. Deep down, she wants… she needs more than what her duty demands of her, what her past has shaped for her.

But as Ivy grows closer to Ren, she realizes she’s not the only one carrying secrets that could shatter the frail bond between them. There’s something he’s not telling her, and one thing is for certain. She’s no longer sure what is more dangerous to her—the ancient beings threatening to take over the town or the man demanding to lay claim to her heart and her soul.


4. Echo by E.K Blair21860884

I know I said I was going to read it a few weeks ago, but then I got distracted by other books and, well, here we are.

SYNOPSIS: 

It’s been said the longest echo ever measured lasted 75 seconds, but I can assure you, this will last much longer. The bang deafened the world around me, muting everything into nullity, allowing the reflection of its destruction to live far beyond its intended life.

It will follow me forever, destroying me—destroying you.

You want answers?

So do I.


5. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

22557272

I’m iffy about reading this one, because the hype has been completely insane! Ever since its release, it has been virtually impossible to get away from it. I see it being discussed on The NY Times, on GoodReads, on Twitter, on Instagram, on Amazon and B&N. Just EVERYWHERE! I avoided it but then the blurb caught my eye and I decided to buy the ebook awhile back. I’ve really been in the Thriller mood lately so I’m thinking of giving this one a shot!

SYNOPSIS: 

A debut psychological thriller that will forever change the way you look at other people’s lives.

Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. “Jess and Jason,” she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost.

And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough. Now everything’s changed. Unable to keep it to herself, Rachel offers what she knows to the police, and becomes inextricably entwined in what happens next, as well as in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good?


6. Silber: Das erste Buch der Traume

17566243

As you know, I am currently learning my third language: German! And well, I thought that I could practice it even better by reading a book that has been on my TBR for awhile in German.  I LOVE this cover so incredibly much!! It is the German equivalent (the original) of Dream a Little Dream by Kerstin Gier. The American cover is just as good, but idk I’m really obsessed with the German cover.

Here is the American one:

21469090

ENGLISH SYNOPSIS:

Mysterious doors with lizard-head knobs. Talking stone statues. A crazy girl with a hatchet. Yes, Liv’s dreams have been pretty weird lately. Especially the one where she’s in a graveyard at night, watching four boys conduct dark magic rituals.

The strangest part is that Liv recognizes the boys in her dream. They’re classmates from her new school in London, the school where she’s starting over because her mom has moved them to a new country (again). But what’s really scaring Liv is that the dream boys seem to know things about her in real life, things they couldn’t possibly know–unless they actually are in her dreams? Luckily, Liv never could resist a good mystery, and all four of those boys are pretty cute….


7. Ten Below Zero by Whitney Barbetti

22529936

It’s been awhile since I’ve had my heart broken by a book and this one sounds like a total tear-jerker. Yet another book I bought when it was first released, ahem, a year ago… I know, I know, I should be ashamed. Especially since I have loaned it out when I still haven’t read it.

SYNOPSIS:

“In here,” he said, pushing on the skin above my heart, “you’re ten below zero. And you’re closer to death than I am.”

My name is Parker. My body is marked with scars from an attack I don’t remember. I don’t want to remember. I choose to live my life by observation, not through experience. While people are laughing and kissing and connecting, I’m in the corner. Watching them live. I’m indifferent to everything, everyone. The only emotion I feel with any kind of depth is annoyance, and I feel it often.

A text message sent to the wrong number proves to be my undoing.

His name is Everett, but I call him rude. He’s pushy, he’s arrogant, he crowds my personal space, and worst of all: he makes me feel.

He chooses to wear all black, all the time, as if he’s waiting to attend a funeral. Probably because he is.

Everett is dying. And he’s spending his final days living, truly living. In doing so, he’s forcing me to feel, to heal. To come face to face with the demons I suppressed in my memory.

He hurts me, he fulfills me, he completes me. And still, he’s dying.


8. Arrow to the Soul by Lea Griffith

18740482

I really enjoyed the first book of this series! Each one involves different characters who are intertwined. I devoured that book so I’m hoping this one will have the same effect on me! I don’t really like the cover though…

SYNOPSIS:

She walks in the darkness—it is all she has ever known.

Arrow walks with death. It is bitter and black, and covers every step she takes. Trained from the crib to be nothing more than a death-bringer she knows she was born without a soul. The darkness is where she’s comfortable and she carries the weight of her duty notched on bow—ready to fly straight and true in to her enemy’s hearts.

He has known love and loss—and then he finds her in the darkness.

Adam knows his calling. Protect and serve. As a member of Trident Corporation he has found the perfect place to meet his obligations. Then he sees a woman with eyes of amber and he is taken under by her darkness. He touches her heart and knows he has no choice—share his light with a killer or lose his soul to her.

Darkness and light. Two sides of one coin. Retribution draws them together but before all is said and done they will learn love can either break you or make you stronger.


9. Cartel by Lili St. Germain

22369031

I enjoyed her Gypsy Brothers series and this is a prequel to those books. I postponed reading Cartel because I already know how this messed up relationship turns out later on and wasn’t sure I wanted my heart to be played with in this dark romance. But I think I can handle it now lol can’t wait to get started on it!

SYNOPSIS:

How much is a life worth?

I grew up in Colombia, the daughter of a wealthy drug lord. I lived a life of extravagance, until one day a drug run went horribly wrong and everything came crashing down around us.

I was given away. A payment for a debt. The Gypsy Brothers Motorcycle Club became my new owners, and I did everything I could to survive.

But falling in love with the man who owned me wasn’t part of the plan…


10. World After by Susan Ee

17849112

I was in a serious book funk and couldn’t find anything that I liked or that interested me. Until, I came across Angelfall.  I raved about it for days! This is the second book to that trilogy and it’s as if the characters have been calling to me from my Kindle – that doesn’t sound creepy at all right? lol I think I’ll reread Angelfall first, though, just as a refresher.

SYNOPSIS:

In this sequel to the bestselling fantasy thriller, Angelfall, the survivors of the angel apocalypse begin to scrape back together what’s left of the modern world.

When a group of people capture Penryn’s sister Paige, thinking she’s a monster, the situation ends in a massacre. Paige disappears. Humans are terrified. Mom is heartbroken.

Penryn drives through the streets of San Francisco looking for Paige. Why are the streets so empty? Where is everybody? Her search leads her into the heart of the angels’ secret plans where she catches a glimpse of their motivations, and learns the horrifying extent to which the angels are willing to go.

Meanwhile, Raffe hunts for his wings. Without them, he can’t rejoin the angels, can’t take his rightful place as one of their leaders. When faced with recapturing his wings or helping Penryn survive, which will he choose?


6 Comments Add yours

  1. Read Angelfalll a while ago and really liked it, hope Worldafter is just as good! I’ve had my eye on Red Queen too. Can’t wait to get my hands on some of those, they sound really interesting! Hope you enjoy them and Happy Reading 🙂

    Erica @ Read It. Note It.
    My Top Ten List!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Me too! I’m hoping they live up to my expectations. Thank you so much! 🙂

      Like

  2. The Girl on the Train is on my list too! I was beginning to wonder if I was the only person who hadn’t read it by now. 🙂 Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol I thought the same thing too! Hopefully we’ll both enjoy it! Happy reading to you too! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great list! I really need to check out Red Queen and Wicked too. They sound so excellent! I hope you enjoy all of these when you get to them this summer. 🙂
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I hope you enjoy your summer reads as well! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

