Review of ‘Eeny Meeny’ by M.J Arlidge


23398806

This book took me completely by surprise!! I really did not expect to like it as much as I did. I read it all in one sitting.


Synopsis:

Helen Grace is a detective in the UK who is known for her courage and steely determination, but no one really knows who Helen truly is. She is a character who is broken and has endured a rough past. Her job is her whole world. She works and works and works before finally returning to an empty home.

One day, she receives a case that bewilders everyone involved. Sam and Amy are a couple who were kidnapped and given a horrible ultimatum: Either one of them kills the other or they both starve to death.

They aren’t the only ones to be forced to take someone else’s life and as the story unfolds, Helen will find herself caught in a race against time to save the next victims from an unknown sadist.


Review:

This novel is somewhat reminiscent of the Saw movies, but not exactly. It still has it’s own uniqueness. Other than the kidnapping and the ultimatum, there really isn’t much else that is similar to Saw.

It was fast-paced and just when you thought you knew who it was suddenly you were flung in the other direction. Very good writing. I didn’t expect it to end the way that it did and I, most certainly, didn’t expect that person to be the killer.

I look forward to future novels of Helen Grace!

Rating: 5 stars!

**ARC obtained from Netgalley**


Add to GoodReads TBR:

Friend me on GoodReads!

Buy on Amazon:

Buy on Barnes & Noble:

6 Comments Add yours

  1. All the books in the series so far have been great but the first one is by far the best 🙂 Can’t wait for the next one too! Glad you enjoyed it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s great to know! 🙂 I really want to get my hands on the others. Helen is such an intriguing character!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. She is fantastic. I assumed she was written by a woman before looking into the author. He knows how to write a great female protagonist!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Omg me too! I had to do a double take when I saw the author’s photo lol. I never would have guessed it was written by a man. Helen and Charlene’s POVs were so convincing! I’m impressed.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Hope he wins loads of awards for this series!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I agree! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

