Review of ‘Ruin & Rule’ by Pepper Winters


22925912

Synopsis:

“We met in a nightmare. The in-between world where time had no power over reason. We fell in love. We fell hard. But then we woke up. And it was over . . .”

She is a woman divided. Her past, present, and future are as twisted as the lies she’s lived for the past eight years. Desperate to get the truth, she must turn to the one man who may also be her greatest enemy . . .

He is the president of Pure Corruption MC. A heartless biker and retribution-deliverer. He accepts no rules, obeys no one, and lives only to reap revenge on those who wronged him. And now he has stolen her, body and soul.

Can a woman plagued by mystery fall in love with the man who refuses to face the truth? And can a man drenched in darkness forgo his quest for vengeance-and finally find redemption?


Review:

I have read some of Pepper Winters’ previous work and loved it! Rated it 5 stars even; so my expectations were rather high when I began this book.

The first 10% was great! It hooked me from the very first line and I thought it was an exciting way to begin the novel. The rest of the novel was still good, but there were too many issues for me.

I’m gonna go ahead and list the pros and cons for you below.

Pros: 

  • It was an enjoyable read
  • It never got boring
  • Several scenes managed to stir up quite a few emotions
  • Peppers writing style was really good.
  • I really liked how there were short sections with Kill’s point of view. It helped a lot. I really think I would have absolutely despised him if it weren’t for his POV.

Cons: Warning! May contain Spoilers in this section!

  • I found it to be a bit confusing. There was lot of WTFing going on on my part. I know that it was meant to be suspenseful, but instead some scenes had me scratching my head wondering if I had missed a page.  For instance, the main character gets kidnapped and while someone is being murdered right in front of her, she’s thinking of how beautiful Kill’s eyes are. What?!

What-The-Fuck-The-Fuck-Dafuq-Will-Smith-Fresh-Prince-Of-Bel-air-Wtf-Weird-Reaction-GIF

  • I did not like the main character which is a huge thing guys! You’re supposed to connect in some way with the MC and I really felt nothing for her. I found her to be whiny and kind of pathetic. She wasn’t taking her situation seriously for the most part. It just didn’t make sense to me why she did some of the things she did. I found her reasons for staying to be rather illogical.
  • I found her amnesia to go away at the most convenient times which just became really silly. It was like: I wish I could remember who my best friend is, oh wait, I remember now. I wish I could remember if I’m on birth control, oh wait, yes I am! I’m on the coil (right in the middle of sexy time people!)

jim-carrey-liar-liar-oh-come-on-angry-its-enough

  • Killian was something else. I liked and hated him at the same time. He was not a nice character AT ALL for a good chunk of the book and he would do things that made me want to crawl into my Kindle and kick his ass. The only reason why he was somewhat redeemed is because of his short POV sections which made me feel sorry for him. Still not a good enough excuse to justify his actions in my opinion.
  • I figured out a big “plot twist” very early on within the first 50% so I wasn’t shocked when it actually played out.

I was a bit bummed since it had all of the elements that I usually like: Motorcycle Club, bikers, dark romance, etc. but it just wasn’t for me. On the other hand, other people have been rating it as 5 stars so I’m obviously in the minority. I’m not discouraging anyone else from reading it. It was entertaining, but not my cup of tea I guess. Maybe I overanalyzed it too much…

Rating: 3.5 stars (Gave it a 3 on GoodReads)

**ARC obtained from Netgalley**


Pre-order links: 

Amazon

iBooks

Kobo

Nook

Google Play

2 Comments Add yours

  1. pajamareader says:

    Hey I just wanted to let you know I nominated you for the Sisterhood of the World Blogger Award. Go check out my blog for the post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thank you so much! 🙂 I’ll check it out!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

