Blogger Recognition Award


Thank you to Hardwork Boulevard for nominating me! 🙂

Rules:

  • Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to. Do some digging if you must! Find those blogs. You cannot nominate yourself or the person who has nominated you.
  • Write a post to show off your award! Give a brief story of how your blog got started, and give a piece or two of advice to new bloggers. Thank whoever nominated you, and provide a link to their blog. List who you’ve nominated in the post. Make sure to also attach the award itself! (You can do this by right-clicking, saving, and uploading the image above).
  • Comment on each blog and let them know you’ve nominated them. Provide a link to the award post you created.
  • Provide a link to the original post on Edge of NightThat way, anyone can find the original guidelines and post if needed, and we can keep it from mutating and becoming confusing!

I began my blog around January of this year. I really didn’t think that many people would be interested in my book ramblings to be quite honest. I, mainly, did it for the purpose of being able to keep track of my book reviews. I wanted to have them all in one place and then be able to print them out later on and keep them in a scrapbook where I log all of my books. I use that scrapbook because there have been numerous times when I see a book I know I read many years ago, but I cannot, for the life of me, remember what it’s about. The scrapbook helps to keep that book fresh in my mind.

The Spring semester ended up being a lot more difficult than I could have ever anticipated! I hardly read at all and most of my spare time was spent studying or researching. Unfortunately, that had somewhat of a negative effect on my blog since I wasn’t using it.

It wasn’t until around May, coincidentally the end of the semester, that I began to start using it frequently. To say that I was surprised at how much traffic my blog received is an understatement. Recently, I passed the 100 follower mark and my site has well over 1,000 views.

I know that to some other bloggers who have hundreds or thousands of followers that my follower count may seem miniscule. However, take into consideration that I didn’t expect to even have one follower lol well, never mind, I did expect at least one since I may have slightly forced my best friend to follow me, but I didn’t expect people I had never met to have an interest in what I type.

I used to have a Blogger account. It wasn’t solely devoted to books, but in all that time I never received much traffic on my site. I have read in numerous articles about how many people decide to blog, but it turns out to be a complete failure. They would say how hard it is to form a good following.

I agree to some extent. It is difficult, but not impossible. It takes dedication. It takes time and effort. You have to find creative ways to keep your readers interested and you also want to be mindful of the type of audience you have.

If you devote enough time to it then your hard work will pay off! Don’t believe everything you read. Those articles that I came across stated that the average person would not develop a good following for at least a year or so and I don’t believe that for  a second. I have seen many baby blogs that within their first month or so they had already developed a significantly large following.

I mentioned this in one of my previous posts: stay true to who you are. Don’t be a carbon copy of other blogs. Do what makes you happy and eventually like-minded individuals will follow you. Most importantly, don’t do it for the numbers but because you actually enjoy it.

I nominate the following blogs:

There is a crazy thunderstorm and I get the feeling I’m going to lose power so I can’t link all 15 blogs but I will put these which are fantastic!! 🙂

Bookland

Aira Reads

Erika in Bookventureland

Book Mates

Floralinks

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Really enjoy following your blog. I agree you should be true to who you are in your blog! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! And yes, that is definitely important! 🙂

      Like

  2. Also I have nominated you for the Sunshine Award on my blog! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Erika says:

    Thanks Victoria for the nomination. ❤

    Definitely agree with your advice to new bloggers. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Erika! 🙂 I’m still somewhat of a new blogger myself so I wasn’t sure if I was saying the right things lol

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Erika says:

        No problem! New or not, it’s usually common to give those kinds of tips. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

