Review of ‘Blood and Bone’ by Tara Brown


Quick update: I’m sorry I haven’t posted in a couple of weeks. Things have been hectic with work and fixing some issues at school for the Fall semester. It’s been crazy and I haven’t had much time for anything. I’m going to try and play catchup today with my book reviews. I have only read 3 books since my last review so it shouldn’t take too long to get back into the swing of things. 🙂 Now let’s get on with this review!

Synopsis: 

What would you do if your life was a lie—and everyone knew but you?

Jane has come a long way from the dark days of the horrific car accident that robbed her of many memories. Living the life of a shopgirl with a charming boyfriend—a handsome, green-eyed doctor named Derek—is so satisfying that she doesn’t want to revisit her past.
But the past insists on revisiting Jane. People keep thinking she’s Samantha, a dead girl who looks exactly like her. Now, Jane is determined to discover her connection to the girl, leading her to question everything from her relationship with Derek to her own sanity. Should she believe Rory, the man who insists she actually is Samantha? Or should she depend on Derek, who offers her love and shelter…but who may have other reasons for keeping her under wraps? Who is telling her the truth—and what are the others hiding?

Review: 

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

This book started off really good and it had some great ratings from my friends on GoodReads so I thought that was a good indication that I would enjoy it as well. Unfortunately, this feeling was short lived.

The more I read the more confused I became. I think that Tara tried to add as many twists as she could, but the end result was a complete disaster in my opinion. I even re-read several chapters in an attempt to obtain a better understanding, but I had no clue where it had gone wrong.

At the end of the day, all I had was a massive headache trying to decipher the conclusion to that novel. I didn’t know who was who or what exactly happened. It took me forever trying to figure out how to even write a review for it! I felt like someone came and dry humped my poor brain into a state of confusion. The best way I can describe it is that there were plot twists every couple chapters and it was just too much! Total overkill! For example:

Plot twist 1: Guy #1 is a good man

Plot twist 2: Nope just kidding he’s evil

Plot twist 3: psyche! He actually is a good person

Plot twist 4: or is he??? (Raised eyebrow)

Plot twist 5: Maybe you’re just crazy

Plot twist 6: orrr maybe it’s all a conspiracy

Plot twist 7: perhaps good guy is lying about everything

Plot twist 8: nope, he’s on your side, in fact it’s the entire government that’s  messing with you

Plot twist 9: or is it just that guy?

I made that stuff up right this second but you get the general idea! There was a lot of back and forth, back and forth and it got old very quickly! Some of the plot twists made absolutely no sense whatsoever or were so far fetched that it made me want to toss my kindle out the window.

I’m disappointed because it had started off so well and the first few chapters left me wanting more. I have several other books of Tara’s and I do plan on reading them, but since this was my first book of hers I don’t know when I’ll get around to them. :/

Nonetheless, there are many other people who found this book to be “brilliant” so I’m not discouraging anyone from reading it. It just didn’t have the same effect on me.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Great review! I didn’t like this book either. It made no sense. The end was a mess. I had no idea what was going on even after rereading parts of it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! I was so lost! I don’t understand some of the 5 star ratings it has received.

      Like

      1. Some of those 5 star reviews must be from family and friends because I can’t fathom why anyone would give this a good review.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Right?! It sure looks that way. It could have been a really good book if it had gone through a strict editor.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

