Review of “Under Different Stars” by Amy Bartol


First of all, let me start off by apologizing for my lack of posts lately. I have been so busy! Plus, college courses just started today and I’m already up to my neck in reading assignments. I’m hoping to take one day out of the week to schedule several posts in advance so that way you can still see my reviews/book tags. I have read so many fantastic books lately and cannot wait to share them with you!!

Onwards to the review!

19504931

Synopsis:

All she wants is a home, but can she find one…UNDER DIFFERENT STARS
Kricket Hollowell is normally not one to wish upon stars; she believes they’re rarely in her favor. Well versed at dodging caseworkers from Chicago’s foster care system, the past few years on her own have made Kricket an expert at the art of survival and blending in. With her 18th birthday fast approaching, she dreams of the day when she can stop running and find what her heart needs most: a home.

Trey Allairis hates Earth and doubts that anyone from his world can thrive here. What he’s learning of Kricket and her existence away from her true home only confirms his theory. But, when he and Kricket lie together under the stars of Ethar, counting them all may be easier than letting her go.

Kyon Ensin’s secrets number the stars; he knows more about Kricket’s gifts than anyone and plans to possess her because of them. He also knows she’s more valuable than any fire in the night sky. He’ll move the heavens and align them all in order to make her his own.

When everything in their world can be broken, will Kricket rely upon love to save her under different stars?

Review:

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars!

This novel has been out for a little while now. As a matter of fact, the third book in the series has already been released, but I hadn’t come across it until recently. My friend recommended the book to me and, to my surprise, it was available on Netgalley. I was given the opportunity to review it by the publisher (Thank you so much by the way!).

I loved this book so freakin much! Amy was able to create a new world so well that I actually found it to be very believable. The vivid details were intricate and so well-written that I could envision the landscape in my head. The descriptions added so much more to the story!

The characters each had distinctive voices and personalities which is extremely important to me. I have read other novels where you cannot tell one character from the next because they all behave and think the same, but, thankfully, I didn’t have that issue with Under Different Stars as every single character was able to stand out on his/her own.

At first, I wasn’t connecting too much to the main character, Kricket, but it didn’t take long for me to fall in love with the heroine. I found her personality to be easily relatable and admirable.

I adored Trey! Don’t get me wrong… At first, I wanted to smack him a couple of times…HARD! But that was before I knew what his agenda was. The more I got to know Trey the more I loved him.

There were several side characters that left good impressions on me. On the other hand, there were several bad characters that made me a tad bit homicidal.

This novel had me laughing at some parts to going crazy over certain events. It lured me in so deeply that I really ended up caring about the characters and what happened to them.

It was also unpredictable which is ALWAYS a good thing! I had my list of theories of what I thought was going to happen next, but I was usually wrong in my estimation. I was more than happy to be wrong, because I typically end up hating books that overly predictable.

Overall, I highly recommend this book if you want to read a fantastic sci-fi novel! I am eager to get my hands on the other two books!

Buy link:

Amazon

Add me as a friend:

Facebook

GoodReads

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Good for you taking the time to still read for enjoyment in college! So many people let it drop. Sounds like a great book.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! And I completely agree! It’s a shame a lot of people stop reading although I can understand that someone it’s hard to find the time. Nonetheless, I hope that doesn’t happen to me lol 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

