Review of ‘Pop goes the Weasel’ by MJ Arlidge


51j65-I1YaL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

SYNOPSIS:

A man’s body is found in an empty house.
A gruesome memento of his murder is sent to his wife and children.

He is the first victim, and Detective Helen Grace knows he will not be the last. But why would a happily married man be this far from home in the dead of night?

The media call it Jack the Ripper in reverse: a serial killer preying on family men who lead hidden double lives.

Helen can sense the fury behind the murders. But what she cannot possibly predict is how volatile this killer is—or what is waiting for her at the end of the chase….

REVIEW:

I think this has officially become one of my favorite crime series!! This is the second addition to the series revolving around Detective Inspector Helen Grace. I loved the first book, but I, honestly, think I love this one even more.

We get quite a few different points of view from Helen (the heroine), Charlie (who we also got to see in the first book Eeny Meeny) and even from the killer.

Usually, I would find so many different points of view to be distracting, but M.J writes so well that it all flows together nicely.

As was the case with the first book, I was surprised to find out the identity of the killer since it was someone that I had never even considered. I love the suspense factor in MJ’s books because they always prove my theories wrong! I actually enjoy being proven wrong, because it makes the overall reading experience so much more entertaining and keeps me guessing all throughout.

I, especially, loved reading about some of the characters that were in the previous book such as Charlie and Jake who I feel add so much to each of the stories even though they are not main characters. Charlie is so enigmatic and intelligent, but she is also Helen’s right hand and I think that they make a very good team. Jake is still a bit of a mystery, but I really like seeing how his relationship with Helen continues to progress even if it’s at a rather slow pace.

Emilia is also a key character in this book as she was in the last book. She is a villain that I love to hate. Omg she infuriates me like no other, but (as crazy as it sounds) I get excited when I see her name because I know that things are about to get a lot more interesting!

I barely finished Pop goes the Weasel yet I already want to get my hands on the third installment! I can already feel myself becoming addicted to this series lol.

Rating: 5 stars!!! 

Thank you to the publisher for allowing me the opportunity to read this ARC obtained from Netgalley!

Buy link: 

Amazon

Add to TBR:

GoodReads

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Love this series too. It only gets better as well. I am about to start the fourth book in the series 🙂 Glad it also one of your favourite crime series, as it has become one of mine too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s awesome! I have been asking my friends if they’ve read it, but they’ve never even heard of this series so it’s nice to see someone else feels the same way about it 🙂 I keep recommending it like crazy lol

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Me too. Hopefully everyone will realise how brilliant it is soon!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I hope so too! It really is one of a kind!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

