Review of ‘Crushed’ by Katherine Garbera


cover74397-medium

SYNOPSIS:

Heath “Con” Connelly is back in San Clemente after three stints in the Middle East with the Navy SEALS. Despite the fact that he’s known to his “brothers” at Preach’s Place for being better with his hands and dangerous when angered, he’s trying to turn over a new leaf. And that’s going…well, not great when he bumps into Mia Santos and notices someone has been beating up the beauty who was always the woman he could never have.

Mia Santos, daughter of one of the most dangerous drug lords, finds herself in the cross-hairs of a turf war. Knowing she put herself there by making bad decisions when deep in a tequila bottle has sharpened her resolve to keep anyone—especially Con—from getting involved in the bloody and dangerous world that is her own. But Con’s not walking away and danger is like a second skin to him. He intends to protect his “family” and claim Mia, unless he gets crushed beneath the dual instincts of lust and rage…

RATING: 2 STARS

REVIEW:

I saw this book was available on Netgalley and immediately requested it upon reading the description. The synopsis really captured my attention and I was intrigued about the plot. And do I even need to mention that cover? Holy hotness Batman!! When I saw that my request had been approved, I was ecstatic and rejoicing, hoping that this would be another gem from Netgalley. Unfortunately, that feeling was short lived.

I really cannot even pinpoint exactly why I didn’t connect at all to any of the characters. Usually I can identify the reasons why, but not so much this time. I felt nothing for the characters. Absolutely nothing which is kind of sucky since the hero is a former Navy Seal and the heroine is a woman who is trying desperately to get away from drug gangs. They sound like the types of characters that I would instantly be attached to, but it didn’t happen at all in this case.

Well, wait… Now that I look back, I really did love one character who was none other than the little dog – Buttercup. Who could ever hate an adorable surfing pug? Except maybe for that one guy…

I think that this book had a lot of potential but there was something vital missing from it. The romance felt extremely rushed and I didn’t feel any chemistry between them. There was quite a bit of backstory added into several different scenes which I felt took away from the present moment. The beginning of the book was rather slow and I’ll admit I found it difficult to stay interested.

I hate that I have to give such a low rating to a book that I had high hopes for. I hate giving low ratings period! The reviews are mostly in favor, but there are quite a few other reviewers who tend to feel the same way that I do. I think it really just boils down to personal taste.

Thank you to the publisher for allowing me the opportunity to read this book through Netgalley!! 🙂

Add to TBR:

GoodReads

Buy Link:

Amazon

Leave a Reply

