Review of “Three Truths and a Lie” by Lisa Gardner


cover75271-small

Synopsis:

Detective D.D. Warren takes on her most intimidating assignment yet: a fifty-minute class meant to educate a horde of bloodthirsty thriller writers on the ways of actual police work. Yet sometimes life really does imitate fiction, as D.D. takes the writers through the reality of one of her most twisted cases—a case that involves a seedy motel room, drugs, prostitution . . . and a severed leg.

Review:

For years, I have been a longtime fan of Lisa Gardner. I remember when I read one of her books for the first time – Gone, to be exact – I was instantly hooked! I went out and purchased 10 of her paperbacks within 24 hours of finishing it. Every book I have read of hers since has been a hit! Am I a bit obsessed with her writing? Eh, I prefer to think of myself as just an overly-enthusiastic fan and not stalkerish whatsoever. Her books are brilliant in my eyes!

Three Truths and a Lie is no exception. I read the entire thing in one sitting. It is a novella so it’s relatively short, but it is incredibly entertaining from the very first page to the very last. I was just as engrossed in the story of the dismembered leg as much as the fictional writers attending D.D Warren’s class session.

There have been numerous novels written about D.D Warren, but this novella can stand on its own as the entirety of the novella revolves around an hour long class session. D.D has never spoken in front of a class before and is a little nervous to say the least. She has no idea what she is even going to say and so on the spot she decides to play a game of Three Truths and a Lie.

She will tell the story of one of her real-life cases involving a dismembered leg and a seedy motel room, but it is the job of the writers attending her class to decide which parts of the story are truth and which are lies.

The case itself is very intriguing and I will leave that part up to you to read so I don’t spoil anything. This novella will be released on January 5, 2016. I highly recommend it! Better yet, I highly recommend anything by Lisa Gardner if you love suspense/thrillers!

Special thanks to the publisher for allowing me to read this book through Netgalley!!

Pre-order link:

Amazon

Add to your TBR: 

GoodReads

Leave a Reply

