October Wrap-up!


October was a super busy month for me so I’m surprised that I managed to read as many books as I did. I only read 10, but I didn’t have that much free time due to midterms so I’m glad for any chance I get to read. I still need to write my reviews for a few of these books and those will be added within the next couple of days.

Oh and guess what y’all?? I have decided to participate in NaNoWriMo for the first time ever! In case you don’t know what that is, it stands for National Novel Writing Month. Basically, it’s a nonprofit that challenges you to write a 50,000 word novel during the month of November. It sounds like a lot, but it’s about 5 pages or so per day so it’s not as hard as it sounds. You can find me on the NaNoWriMo website by my username EscapeIntoPages – feel free to add me as a friend on there to keep up with my progress or to motivate each other 🙂

I am mainly doing this for fun. I don’t really plan on publishing my work or anything so there’s not really much pressure on my side to make it perfect. I just want to be able to look back one day and say with pride that I was able to write a full-length novel.

Okay, back to the task at hand! Here are the books that I managed to finish during the month of October! Have you read any of these? How was your month?

#1. Pop goes the Weasel by M.J Arlidge

51j65-I1YaL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

Synopsis:

The body of a middle-aged man is discovered in Southampton’s red-light district – horrifically mutilated, with his heart removed.

Hours later – and barely cold – the heart arrives with his wife and children by courier.

A pattern emerges when another male victim is found dead and eviscerated, his heart delivered soon afterwards.

The media call it Jack the Ripper in reverse; revenge against the men who lead sordid double lives visiting prostitutes. For Grace, only one thing is certain: there’s a vicious serial-killer at large who must be halted at all costs . . .

Read: October 2, 2015

Rating: 5 stars!

Genre: Suspense/Thriller

Length: 426 pages

#2. Crushed by Katherine Garbera

cover74397-medium

Synopsis:

Heath “Con” Connelly is back in San Clemente after three stints in the Middle East with the Navy SEALS. Despite the fact that he’s known to his “brothers” at Preach’s Place for being better with his hands and dangerous when angered, he’s trying to turn over a new leaf. And that’s going…well, not great when he bumps into Mia Santos and notices someone has been beating up the beauty who was always the woman he could never have.

Mia Santos, daughter of one of the most dangerous drug lords, finds herself in the cross-hairs of a turf war. Knowing she put herself there by making bad decisions when deep in a tequila bottle has sharpened her resolve to keep anyone—especially Con—from getting involved in the bloody and dangerous world that is her own. But Con’s not walking away and danger is like a second skin to him. He intends to protect his “family” and claim Mia, unless he gets crushed beneath the dual instincts of lust and rage…

Read: October 4, 2015

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Genre: Romance

Length: 128 pages

#3. Sea of Stars by Amy Harmon

20977124

Synopsis:

Eighteen-year-old Kricket Hollowell was looking for her place in the world when she discovered that the universe was bigger—and more dangerous—than she had ever dreamed. Now, whisked across space to the planet Ethar, Kricket learns that her genetic ability to see the future makes her a sought-after commodity…and the catalyst for war between her star-crossed parents’ clans. According to Alameedan prophecy, one house will rise to power and the other will be completely wiped out, and Kricket’s precognition is believed to be the weapon that will tip the scales.

A target of both the Rafe and the Alameeda houses, Kricket finds protection—and a home—in the arms of Trey, her Etharian bodyguard-turned-boyfriend. But her visions of what’s to come disturb her deeply, especially since she must discover whether the gift of foresight will allow her to rewrite the future, or if her fate is as immovable as the stars.

Read: October 14, 2015

Rating: 5 stars!

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Length: 320 pages

#4. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

22557272

Synopsis:

A debut psychological thriller that will forever change the way you look at other people’s lives.

Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. “Jess and Jason,” she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost.

And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough. Now everything’s changed. Unable to keep it to herself, Rachel offers what she knows to the police, and becomes inextricably entwined in what happens next, as well as in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good?

Compulsively readable, The Girl on the Train is an emotionally immersive, Hitchcockian thriller and an electrifying debut.

Read: October 16, 2015

Rating: 5 stars!

Genre: Suspense/Thriller

Length: 325 pages

#5. Initium by Courtney Cox

26806990

Synopsis:

I never knew what the consequences would be.
I say that like it’s a defense, an excuse.
It’s not. It’s simply the truth.
I never knew what he would become to me.
Through everything, he’s become everything.
My rock, my air, my love.
My everything.
And then….
Things changed.
Because it was wrong.
Because sometimes, our sons must pay for the sins of their fathers.
Or their mothers.
I’m afraid that I’m lost,
that I’m damned.
After you read this, you’ll probably agree.
Really, it doesn’t matter.
All that matters is that I save him.
Because he shouldn’t pay for my sin.
Judge me if you like.
But keep reading.
This is our beginning.
This is where the darkness truly starts.

Read: October 18, 2015

Rating: 5 stars

Genre: Dark Fantasy; Young Adult; Total Mind Humping

Length: 68 pages

#6. 3 Truths and a Lie by Lisa Gardner

cover75271-small

Synopsis: 

In Lisa Gardner’s second short story, after the New York Times bestseller The 7th Month, Detective D.D. Warren takes on her most intimidating assignment yet: a fifty-minute class meant to educate a horde of bloodthirsty thriller writers on the ways of actual police work. Yet sometimes life really does imitate fiction, as D.D. takes the writers through the reality of one of her most twisted cases—a case that involves a seedy motel room, drugs, prostitution . . . and a severed leg.

Read: October 23, 2015

Rating: 5 stars

Genre: Mystery/Suspense

Length: Didn’t have a page count, but I’d estimate under 100 pages.

#7. Walk through Fire by Kristen Ashley

cover68965-medium

Synopsis:

The flame never dies . . .

Millie Cross knows what it’s like to burn for someone. She was young and wild and he was fierce and even wilder-a Chaos biker who made her heart pound. They fell in love at first sight and life was good, until she learned she couldn’t be the woman he needed and made it so he had no choice but to walk away. Twenty years later, Millie’s chance run-in with her old flame sparks a desire she just can’t ignore. And this time, she won’t let him ride off . . .

Bad boy Logan “High” Judd has seen his share of troubles with the law. Yet it was a beautiful woman who broke him. After ending a loveless marriage, High is shocked when his true love walks back into his life. Millie is still gorgeous, but she’s just a ghost of her former self. High’s intrigued at the change, but her betrayal cut him deep-and he doesn’t want to get burned again. As High sinks into meting out vengeance for Millie’s betrayal, he’ll break all over again when he realizes just how Millie walked through fire for her man . . .

Read: October 23, 2015

Rating: 5 stars

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Length: 624 pages

#8. Lux by Courtney Cole 

23501019

Synopsis:

LET THERE BE LIGHT.
My name is Calla Price and I’m broken.

My pieces are all around me, floating on the wind, even as I desperately try to grasp them.

Who is dead? Alive? Insane?

What is the truth?

I don’t know.

I do know this: The darkness is strangling me. With every breath, I choke on another lie.

My mind has protected me, but that shield will soon be lowered.

All will be revealed.
Every answer to every question.

It’s all been leading to this.

Don’t be afraid.
Be terrified.

Read: October 28, 2015

Rating: 4 stars

Genre: Dark fantasy, young adult

Length: 274 pages

#9. Hollywood Dirt by Alessandra Torre

25802884

Synopsis:

Cole Masten. Abandoned by his superstar wife, Hollywood’s Perfect Husband is now Hollywood’s Sexiest Bachelor: partying hard and screwing even harder. Watch out Los Angeles, there’s a new bad boy in town.

Summer Jenkins. That’s me, a small town girl stuck in Quincy, Georgia. I cook some mean chicken and dumplins, can bluff a grown man out of his savings in poker, and was voted Most Friendly my senior year.

We were from different worlds. Our lives shouldn’t have collided. But then Cole Masten read a book about my small town. And six months later, his jet landed on our dusty airstrip, and he brought Hollywood with him.

From the start, I knew he was trouble. For our town. And for me.

Sometimes, opposites just aren’t meant to attract.

Read: October 29, 2015

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars!

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Length: 414 pages

#10. When Shadows Fall by J.T Ellison

18246292

Synopsis:

Dear Dr. Owens,

If you are reading this letter, I am dead and I would be most grateful if you could solve my murder…

Forensic pathologist Dr. Samantha Owens thought life was finally returning to normal after she suffered a terrible personal loss. Settling into her new job at Georgetown University, the illusion is shattered when she receives a disturbing letter from a dead man imploring her to solve his murder. There’s only one catch. Timothy Savage’s death was so obviously the suicide of a demented individual that the case has been closed.

When Sam learns Savage left a will requesting she autopsy his body, she feels compelled to look into the case. Sam’s own postmortem discovers clear signs that Savage was indeed murdered. And she finds DNA from a kidnapped child whose remains were recovered years earlier.

The investigation takes Sam into the shadows of a twenty-year-old mystery that must be solved to determine what really happened to Timothy Savage. Nothing about the case makes sense but it is clear someone is unwilling to let anyone, especially Samantha Owens, discover the truth.

Read: October 31, 2015

Rating: 5 stars

Genre: Thriller/Mystery

Length: 416 pages

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Good luck with NaNoWriMo – as you say, keep chipping away at it every day, and it’s not too bad. I just read Hollywood Dirt as well, I was so surprised how much I liked it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! 🙂 So far, I think I’m going at a nice pace and hopefully that will continue throughout the month. So was I! I’ll admit it took a few chapters to get into it, but I thought it was a really sweet and funny book. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

