Review of “Hollywood Dirt” by Alessandra Torre


25802884

Synopsis: 

Cole Masten. Abandoned by his superstar wife, Hollywood’s Perfect Husband is now Hollywood’s Sexiest Bachelor: partying hard and screwing even harder. Watch out Los Angeles, there’s a new bad boy in town.

Summer Jenkins. That’s me, a small town girl stuck in Quincy, Georgia. I cook some mean chicken and dumplins, can bluff a grown man out of his savings in poker, and was voted Most Friendly my senior year.

We were from different worlds. Our lives shouldn’t have collided. But then Cole Masten read a book about my small town. And six months later, his jet landed on our dusty airstrip, and he brought Hollywood with him.

From the start, I knew he was trouble. For our town. And for me.

Sometimes, opposites just aren’t meant to attract.

Review:

I had been hearing about this book everywhere! It has been all over my newsfeed on GoodReads, Facebook, Twitter, you name it. I am a huge fan of Alessandra Torre. I loved The Girl in 6E and The Dumont Diaries. Nonetheless, I was a bit apprehensive about reading Hollywood Dirt simply because it was so different from anything she had ever written before. Plus, I tend to avoid books that involve any sort of characters who are celebrities.

I was loaned a copy of this book and decided to see what all the hype was about. First let me begin by saying how I much I love the cover! I think it’s really beautiful and the type of cover you just want to obsessively stare at.

Now, I’ll be perfectly honest. It took awhile for me to truly get into this novel. At first, I was quite bored and I hate to say that because, as I mentioned earlier, I love her work and have never before associated the word “bored” with Alessandra Torre. Her work has always been phenomenal. It wasn’t until after I hit the 100 page mark that I became hooked!

I loved the banter between Cole and Summer. It was a sweet romance that had me smiling on numerous occasions. There were a few subplots that I felt added a lot to the overall story.

I think my favorite character of the entire novel was Cocky and you’ll have to read the book to see why. I loved him so freakin much and he never said a word lol.

I loved the ending. There was a sense of vindication and humor. I think that this novel proved just how versatile Alessandra can be with her writing. I am used to her writing dark and heavy-themed material, but this feel-good romance was a nice change for her.

Final verdict: 4 out of 5 stars!

Buy link:

Amazon

Add to your TBR:

GoodReads

One Comment Add yours

  1. I actually haven’t heard of this book before, but your review has me intrigued. Think I’m going to have to check this out! Great review. ❤️

    Like

Leave a Reply

