Review of “The Absence of Olivia” by Anie Michaels


Okay everyone, I PROMISE that this is my last post for the night. Thank you for being patient with me and I sincerely hope I haven’t been blowing up your emails or notifications with all of my book reviews. Those of you who have followed me for awhile now know that I usually only post about once a day every few days so this isn’t a constant thing.

Midterms are finally over and I was drastically behind on my book reviews. I am piled up to my eye sockets in ARCs from that I need to read within a week’s time (not that I’m complaining – they all sound amazing and I can’t wait to get started on them!), so I figured it would be much better if I do a catchup day where I post all the reviews that I’m behind on. This will work better for me so that when my reading binge begins, I won’t feel overwhelmed by all the stuff I need to do.

This next book was so incredibly good and I really hope that you all consider reading it.

25800312

Synopsis:

My name is Evelyn.

I met Devon and instantly fell for him.

Weeks later he fell for my best friend.

Never one to make waves, I watched as they started a life together. I stood by as their family grew, was the maid of honor at their wedding and the godmother to their children. All the while, I was longing for him, watching as he became the perfect husband and father. I was never jealous. I wasn’t even angry that my best friend had the only person I wanted. I had simply resigned myself to living without his love, but still being a part of his life.

Then, one terrible day, my best friend died.

She died and we all struggled to live life without her. Slowly, as the pain eased, our eyes opened and Devon finally saw me.

This is a story about second chances and second choices.

This is the story of how my life changed in the absence of Olivia.

Review:

I won’t even lie – the synopsis scared the hell out of me. I thought it sounded incredibly good, but also very heartbreaking. I tend to stay away from books that will leave me as a crying mess on the floor in the fetal position.

My friend, Pam, who I absolutely adore was sweet enough to gift this book to me and after having read it I am forever grateful that she recommended it to me. ❤  Thank you so much!

Originally, I was only going to read a couple of pages because it was really late and I had a midterm the following day, but I actually ended up reading the entire novel and not sleeping at all. Imagine the look on my face when I finally looked up from my kindle to see that the sun had already risen lol. Needless to say, a frantic and rampant study session ensued since I had neglected my studying in order to finish the novel.

This novel was beautiful and I lost count of how many phrases I highlighted because they were so profound and lyrically written. I fell in love with all of the characters. Yes, they had their flaws, but they were all people who were struggling with their emotions for years yet still trying to do what was right and remain loyal to their significant others.

My heart broke for Evelyn and Devon. It is obvious that their love was the kind of love that most people yearn for. They would never act on it though, because they are good people who believe in putting their own desires aside to remain faithful to their partners.

Once Olivia passed away, it would seem as if they now had their opportunity to be together without hurting anyone else. They soon realize that their circumstances aren’t as easy as it seems. They may no longer be attached to anyone anymore, but the guilt is there. The sense of forbidden territory is there. They cannot help but feel as if they are betraying Olivia by being together.

This story revolves around their history. It goes back and forth from the past to the present day. We get to relive the reasons why they feel so strongly for one another. We also see the effects that their noticeable longing had on their loved ones.

I absolutely love the way that it ended. I was rooting for that ending in my head for several chapters and I’m so glad that that’s how it was resolved. I loved it. I loved this book so much and I cannot wait for the second book in the series which does involve a character in this book so I recommend reading this one first in order to become familiarized.

I think it goes without saying that I rated this 5 stars!

Buy link:

Amazon

Add to your TBR:

GoodReads

9 Comments Add yours

  1. nawallovexo says:

    It is hard trying to juggle school etc with blogging but don’t worry! Atleast you’re doing it

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is so very true and thank you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. nawallovexo says:

        Don’t worry, I’ve had to cut down reviewing major since uni started again

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It’s hard to find the time! I’m so glad that school ends in about a month. I can go back to binge reading again lol

        Liked by 1 person

      3. nawallovexo says:

        Same tbh! Hahaaa hurray for christmas holidays

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Lol exactly!! 😂 Best time of the year!

        Like

  2. Kathy K says:

    Great review, I’ve nominated you for the Sisterhood of the World Blogging Award! https://thenoveltyoflife.wordpress.com/2015/11/09/sisterhood-of-the-world-blogging-award/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

