Review of “The Grownup” by Gillian Flynn


26025580

Synopsis:

A canny young woman is struggling to survive by perpetrating various levels of mostly harmless fraud. On a rainy April morning, she is reading auras at Spiritual Palms when Susan Burke walks in. A keen observer of human behavior, our unnamed narrator immediately diagnoses beautiful, rich Susan as an unhappy woman eager to give her lovely life a drama injection; however, when the “psychic” visits the eerie Victorian home that has been the source of Susan’s terror and grief, she realizes she may not have to pretend to believe in ghosts anymore. Miles, Susan’s teenage stepson, doesn’t help matters with his disturbing manner and grisly imagination. The three are soon locked in a chilling battle to discover where the evil truly lurks and what, if anything, can be done to escape it.

Review: 

Anyone who knows me well knows that I’m a huge fan of Gillian Flynn’s work. Gone Girl is still to this day one of my favorite books! I was incredibly excited when I received a hardcover copy of The Grownup from Blogging for Books which is run by Crown Publishing and Penguin Random House. I couldn’t wait to just dive right into it. A huge thank you for sending it to me for review!! ❤

Keep in mind that it is very short! I think that’s something that a lot of people didn’t expect about it when they purchased it online. I believe it is only around 62 pages. I finished it within an hour or so. Because of the fact that it is so short, I will make my review rather brief so as not to spoil anything.

The main character is an unnamed woman who isn’t exactly what you would consider to be wholesome or ethical. She is a con artist – finding intricate ways to sucker people into giving her money. She isn’t fully to blame though. That is just how her mother raised her to be.

Our main character has had a multitude of “jobs” for lack of a better word. She uses whatever means she has to her advantage whether it’s her looks, her body, or her cunning and deceitful nature. Her latest job involves being a psychic. Yes, you read that right.

A woman comes to her seeking help because she believes that something evil lurks in her home. It is insidiously driving her to the point where she feels helpless and alone. Perhaps the service of a psychic will help her. What could possibly go wrong?

There is a twist in this book that I did not see coming from a mile away and I must admit it was brilliant, Ms. Flynn, absolutely brilliant. (slow applause)

This book definitely has its creepy moments. It leaves you with an ending that can be interpreted in many ways or perhaps not even at all.

It has been a couple of days since I finished it and I’m still scratching my head trying to figure out what on earth happened. It is all left up to the reader to decide.

Final verdict: 4 stars!

The reason I deducted one star is because there is a lot of backstory on the main character which usually I would enjoy. However, this is such a short story that her background took up about half of the book. Nonetheless, it was still an enjoyable read.

This novella can also be found on Rogues by George R.R Martin which is an anthology featuring the work of several different authors.

Buy link:

Amazon

Add to your TBR:

GoodReads

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

