Review of “Roped In” by LP Dover


26048125

Synopsis:

Who says a wild heart can’t be tamed?

For years, I lived for the job and let it control me. Violence was all I knew. I protected, killed, and served. My name is Blake Evans, one of the best undercover cops in the country. I thought I was about to live a quiet life on my ranch in Wyoming until an old friend showed up and changed everything. He brought me her, Hadley Rivers, country music sensation and the one woman I couldn’t have. I didn’t want her but she had me completely roped in.

My job is to protect her, to keep her away from some psycho who wants her for himself. However, there’s more to her story than I was led to believe. I promised to keep her safe and I won’t back down . . . even if I have to die trying. I can’t let him have her. 

Review:

This is a difficult review to write. I found the first half of this book to be amazing! The beginning was thrilling and suspenseful. I really liked the way the storyline of the stalker played out.

To be perfectly honest, I thought that Blake was kind of an ass in the first few chapters. I didn’t understand why he was being so mean to Hadley when he had just met her. It wasn’t at all professional nor was it considerate since someone very close to her had just been killed. Nonetheless, he eventually grew on me and I ended up really liking him.

I loved Hadley’s personality! I love it when the heroine doesn’t take any mistreatment from anyone and is a total spitfire. Hadley dished back everything that Blake gave her and I loved that about her! I found myself laughing several times over their banter and silly antics.

Unfortunately, the second half completely lost me. There had been quite a bit of sexual tension between them, but that’s all that I saw – pure sexual tension; not love. Out of nowhere, they’re suddenly an item and are having some pretty intense feelings for each other. There was no transition or big event that brought this on which made it difficult for me to connect with their relationship.

I felt like it was a case of insta-love and that was a big turn off for me. I really loved the characters and the stalker plot line, but I just wasn’t feeling their romance. I do think that if it had been taken just a little bit slower then I would have rated this book higher for sure!

Overall, that was really the only complaint I have about this book. I really enjoyed it. It was entertaining and I will definitely check out more of LP Dover’s books! I loved her writing style and I’ve heard fantastic things about her other books so I plan on reading those soon.

NOTE: I received an ARC of this book and it was relatively short around 200-ish pages. Whereas, the finished product was listed as having 330 pages so I don’t know if it was just the formatting that changed the page count or if more material was added before being published. This review is solely based on the ARC that I received.

Final verdict: 3.5 out of 5 stars!

Special thanks to the publisher for allowing me to read this book through Netgalley! 🙂

Buy link: 

Amazon 

Add to your TBR:

GoodReads

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

