Top Ten Tuesday


thankful4

It has been FOREVER since I have done a book tag of any sort! I have really tried concentrating most of my posts around book reviews, but this is such a good one that I just had to take part in it!

The Top Ten Tuesday tag was created by The Broke and the Bookish (highly recommend that you check them out!)

This week’s theme is pretty obvious considering the picture above – TOP TEN THINGS WE’RE THANKFUL FOR – THAT ACTUALLY AREN’T BOOKS

My whole life revolves around books so this was not an easy list to come up with.

world-without-books-gifs-despicable-me

#1. I am thankful for my family – we certainly have had our share of extremely difficult times, but we have managed to come out of them stronger and better.

#2. I am thankful for my four dogs. I absolutely adore them. I don’t view them as just animals who keep me company. They are my entire world. I will seriously cut anyone who hurts them. Seriously. #ThugLife

tumblr_nifrxpSxYh1sjcg5bo4_r1_250

#3. As much as I complain about college (and I complain at least once a day), I am thankful for the opportunity to learn and to reach my career goals. There are so many people all around the world who don’t have the financial means or the opportunity to attend college or to even obtain an education at all. I consider myself very fortunate.

#4. I am thankful for my friends who put up with my crap. Lord knows I’m not always the easiest person to get along with. They have been absolutely amazing and supportive. I love them as if they were my own blood and don’t know what I’d do without them. Many of my bad days have been made a million times better because of them.

hug-me-brother-gif

#5. When I was a teenager, I had so many health problems. You name it, I had it. I would spend several days in bed wracked with the most horrible pain you could imagine, constantly passing out, in and out of the school nurse’s office, constantly ending up in the emergency room etc. It got to the point that my doctor even called my school and told them I wasn’t allowed to attend P.E for an entire year, because my bronchitis was so severe that I could end up in the hospital if I even tried to jog lightly. Needless to say, I am thankful for my good health today. I haven’t experienced those severe pains in a long time and I haven’t passed out at all this year. My bronchitis cleared up within that same year. I just feel a million times better and healthier than I ever have. It has made me realize how much we take for granted everyday.

#6. We all have had professors at school that either make a good or a bad impression on us. I have been incredibly lucky to have some fantastic professors. Not all of them were fantastic, but those who were made up for the ones who weren’t. Unfortunately, two of them have passed away recently and my heart will never be the same knowing we don’t walk this earth together anymore, but I’m thankful that I got to meet them. I’m grateful that they took the time to get to know me and other students and to care about us as if we were their own children. That’s actually something that one of them said. They quickly became my role models and mentors. I will never forget them.

#7. I’m thankful for the caring nature my mom gave me. She instilled in me at a very young age the importance of helping others. I owe my need to make a difference in this world (whether big or small) to her.

#8. This one is going to be a bit….weird. I’m thankful for turkey. That’s right, I said it! Nothing makes my tummy happier than cramming all the delicious Thanksgiving food into my face. Everything is homemade and my dad is the best cook on earth. Why he chose not to become a professional chef is beyond me. Of course, we will also be sharing our food with families who are less fortunate (and I’m more than happy to share with them), but I have laid claim to the rest of it. My family can fight over the scraps if I leave them any.

#9. I am thankful for reading. I know what you’re thinking! This is against the rules because it involves books right? Well, I’m not listing books per se. I’m just glad that I developed a love reading at a young age. Reading is the only thing that calms my overactive mind. I feel as if I have become a better person from the books that I have read.

#10. Okay, one more not directly about a specific book lol. I am super appreciative of authors and publishers who have sent me ARCs or who have just been incredible towards us bloggers. You guys are the best! ❤

What are you most thankful for? 🙂

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Friends are a great (and terrible) thing. They have all the best blackmail material. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lol that is so very true! I’m pretty sure they have some embarrassing videos of me lurking around somewhere, lying in wait to be used as blackmail to make me buy them pizza or something lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

