Review of “Red Queen” by Victoria Aveyard


10212034

Synopsis:

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart …

Review:

This book was absolutely brilliant, enigmatic and breathtaking! It is one of those novels that, even though you have a million things to do, you cannot put it down!

I don’t know what I could possibly say in my review that hasn’t been said many times before. As always, I was late to the game in reading this. Albeit, I’m kind of glad I waited so long to read it because I am finding the wait for the second book nearly impossible and I JUST finished it yesterday. I want it. I need it. I crave it with every fiber of my being. I’ve recently had a taste of the Red Queen series yet I’m already addicted to it. I need my fix!

giphy

I will give you a quick spoiler-free summary of the characters and the plot.

Mare: I loved the main character! She is a 17 year old girl from the Stilts, an area where the commoners are barely getting by financially. She is willing to go to great lengths to provide her family with what they need to survive. She is a great heroine. Not perfect whatsoever, but a fighter and I admire her unwavering ability to never give up.

Cal: I loved Cal! I liked his strong, fierce and protective nature. He embodies so many great attributes that it was hard not to be attracted to his character. However, he did get on my nerves a couple of times, but they were with good reason.

Maven: He is such a central character in this book. He wasn’t nearly as popular with the ladies or as skilled in fighting as Cal is, but he tried to become better in everything and I really liked that about him.

Plot: I cannot praise the plot line enough!! It was incredible! Definitely one of my most favorite books ever! It had everything you could ask for: action, heartache, friendship, love, and some humor.

Some people have complained that it’s a lot like the Hunger Games trilogy, but I, honestly, couldn’t see it. I’ve read all three books in that trilogy and really enjoyed them, but any comparisons to the Red Queen are a bit of a stretch in my opinion.

Although I loved every second of this book, I have to say that the best part was contained with the last few pages near the ending. That plot twist!! 

877630

I had a feeling that something crazy was going to happen, but I wasn’t entirely sure. There were some hints that pointed in a particular direction, but then I’d be pointed towards another direction so I was eagerly awaiting and anticipating what the ending could possibly be. Let me put it this way, I never expected the events to unfold the way that they did.

I highly recommend it to those of you who are searching for a new fantasy book to check out. This one gets all the stars!

Final verdict: 5 stars!

Buy link:

Amazon

Add to your TBR:

GoodReads

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I love your blog! Keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! 🙂

      Like

  2. Depending where you are, you can pre-order glass sword and get the signed edition! Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s awesome! I didn’t know that. I’ll definitely check that out. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

