Review of “The Good Girl” by Mary Kubica


41p2TrG1JpL._SX325_BO1,204,203,200_

Synopsis:

“I’ve been following her for the past few days. I know where she buys her groceries, where she works. I don’t know the color of her eyes or what they look like when she’s scared. But I will.”

One night, Mia Dennett enters a bar to meet her on-again, off-again boyfriend. But when he doesn’t show, she unwisely leaves with an enigmatic stranger. At first Colin Thatcher seems like a safe one-night stand. But following Colin home will turn out to be the worst mistake of Mia’s life.

When Colin decides to hide Mia in a secluded cabin in rural Minnesota instead of delivering her to his employers, Mia’s mother, Eve, and detective Gabe Hoffman will stop at nothing to find them. But no one could have predicted the emotional entanglements that eventually cause this family’s world to shatter.

Review:

I had been wanting to read this book for SOOOO long!! That summary is completely captivating! The only thing that held me back from reading it is the price and the fact that it’s not offered in my library. Thankfully, this book went on sale last month and I grabbed it as quick as I could!

The first few chapters were incredibly compelling! We get to see three different POVs; none of which are from Mia whom the entire book revolves around. The POVs are from Mia’s mother, Detective Gabe Hoffman, and Colin Thatcher who we know is the kidnapper as told in the blurb.

This novel was not at all like I thought it would be and that’s not necessarily a bad thing. I guess I thought it would be a typical stalker type of book, but what I got was a much more complex story.

I really enjoyed the twists and turns in this novel and especially that ending which you will either love or hate. I had to sit down and think whether I loved or hated the ending. It definitely felt like a punch to the face when I read it (a bit overdramatic but oh well lol). However, I think that it helped to explain a lot of the behaviors that we see in one of the characters.

The story is told in an alternating past/present sort of way. I know some people aren’t particularly fond of that method of writing, but I thought it was done very well. I didn’t have a problem keeping up with the timing of the events.

I do have one small complaint about it. It is written at a very steady pace, but towards the middle I felt that the pacing was becoming a bit on the monotonous side. I would have really preferred seeing a change in pace to help keep me thoroughly interested the entire time.

I suppose that I am just used to thrillers having their heart-pounding moments and this one was lacking a bit in that department. Nonetheless, I really enjoyed it and look forward to more books by Mary.

Final verdict: 4 out of 5 stars!

Buy link:

Amazon

Add to your TBR:

GoodReads

Leave a Reply

