Review of “2nd Chance” by James Patterson


13136.jpg

Synopsis:

2nd Chance reconvenes the Women’s Murder Club, four friends (a detective, a reporter, an assistant district attorney, and a medical examiner) who used their networking skills, feminine intuition, and professional wiles to solve a baffling series of murders in 1st to Die. This time, the murders of two African Americans, a little girl and an old woman, bear all the signs of a serial killer for Lindsay Boxer, newly promoted to lieutenant of San Francisco’s homicide squad. But there’s an odd detail she finds even more disturbing: both victims were related to city cops. A symbol glimpsed at both murder scenes leads to a racist hate group, but the taunting killer strikes again and again, leaving deliberate clues and eluding the police ever more cleverly. In the meantime, each of the women has a personal stake at risk–and the killer knows who they are.

Review:

I read the very first book of this series years ago and really enjoyed it! I saw this at my library and decided to pick up where I left off.

From the get go, I could not put the book down. James Patterson sure knows how to grab your attention within the first few pages! I was really captivated for the first several chapters. However, around the midway point I began to lose interest.

Honestly, I cannot even find the right words to describe exactly why I couldn’t get into this book. I love James’ other works. I loved the first book and gave it 5 stars, but this one just seemed to be missing some key ingredient that I look for in books.

I did what every bookworm despises – that’s right y’all – I began to skim through quite a few pages. Then I came across a part that piqued my interest and couldn’t put it down again after that.

I wavered back and forth between giving this book 3 or 4 stars. The beginning and ending were great! It was just the middle that was kind of meh. Nonetheless, I still want to continue with this series as the characters intrigue me.

Final Verdict: 3.5 stars 

Buy link:

Amazon

Add to your TBR:

GoodReads

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I love this series! I’m on the 9th book now and I think some of the more recent ones are even better than the beginning of the series!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s great! 🙂 Thankfully my library has all of them 🙂 I’m going to try and finish the series this year. (Crosses fingers)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

