Review of “Forbidden” by Tabitha Suzuma


8580362

Synopsis:

She is pretty and talented – sweet sixteen and never been kissed. He is seventeen; gorgeous and on the brink of a bright future. And now they have fallen in love. But… they are brother and sister.

Seventeen-year-old Lochan and sixteen-year-old Maya have always felt more like friends than siblings. Together they have stepped in for their alcoholic, wayward mother to take care of their three younger siblings. As defacto parents to the little ones, Lochan and Maya have had to grow up fast. And the stress of their lives—and the way they understand each other so completely—has also also brought them closer than two siblings would ordinarily be. So close, in fact, that they have fallen in love. Their clandestine romance quickly blooms into deep, desperate love. They know their relationship is wrong and cannot possibly continue. And yet, they cannot stop what feels so incredibly right. As the novel careens toward an explosive and shocking finale, only one thing is certain: a love this devastating has no happy ending.

Review:

If you are still reading my review after that jaw-dropping blurb then stick with me for a little bit longer, okay? lol

I read this book as part of a group-read. I am not so sure I would have rushed to read it otherwise simply because the plot is extraordinarily taboo. I’m all for taboo topics by the way, but since I have brothers I was worried that this book would gross me out or something along those lines. I have never read a book revolving around incest before. I thought that everything in my entire being would be screaming how wrong incest is the entire time. Surprisingly, it didn’t go that way exactly. PSA: Keep in mind that I still believe that incest is wrong, but this book definitely got those wheels turning in my head and made me think about how many people in real life must struggle with this sort of situation.

From the get go, I was absolutely enthralled with the characters. It is incredibly hard to find fault with Maya and Lochan. Almost immediately, I found myself attached to both characters. They are two young teens who are hurting and have been hurting for a very long time. This novel will grab you by the heart strings with a tight grip and not let go. It will leave you feeling conflicted about their love no matter how much you may inherently disagree with what they do.

Anyone can sit there and judge without reading it first that there are some lines that should never be crossed and, although I agree to a certain extent, I can also understand why they felt the need to look to each other for comfort and affection.

They struggle with an absentee mother who behaves as if her children are the bane of her existence,  they live knowing that their father wants nothing to do with them, they are forced to take upon the roles as parents for their younger siblings who are not exactly grateful, and have to still deal with bullying and harassment at school. It’s no wonder that after so much neglect, hatred, and animosity at school and at home that they would begin to lean on each other a bit too much.

This is not a case of instalove or a case of romanticizing incest. They try their best to fight off what they believe is wrong. It’s a struggle that is both heart-wrenching and twisted. This book is not easy to read by any means. It will test your morality and everything you believe in. This novel left me a crying mess on the floor. Their anguish and guilt is so palpable that it is impossible to not feel for them. That ending utterly destroyed me, but I will, without a doubt, remember this book for as long as I live.

The greatest books you will ever read are those that make you question yourself and Forbidden accomplished that. Remember that reading slump I was in for a month that I mentioned the other day? This was the book that got me out of it. I read this entire book in a matter of hours! I stayed up all night reading it from cover to cover. It was that hard to put down.

I know that you must be thinking that this is a book that you’re not comfortable reading, but I still highly recommend it because it is a heartbreakingly beautiful story. Tabitha’s writing is magnificent! She is an incredible writer. My advice is to just give it a shot and if the first few pages don’t grab you like they did with me and my friends then at least you tried to get out of your comfort zone for a little bit. 🙂

Final verdict: 5 stars!

Buy link:

Amazon

Add to your TBR:

GoodReads

 

Leave a Reply

