Review of “Broken Banners” by Mark Gelineau and Joe King


28537511

Synopsis:

Slaughtered and left for crows, soldiers of the King’s Army lay dead in a field. A grim reminder: the king’s law ends at the gates of the capital.

Elinor fought for what she believed and now she is an outcast. No soldier will follow her. No officer will stand with her. Yet when she finds her brothers and sisters slaughtered, she cannot turn her back on them.

Long ago, they swore an oath. Not to the king, but to each other.

And woe to those who break that bond.

Review:

Let me first take a minute to drool over that cover! It is absolutely stunning!! I’m in love with it!

Elinor is one of my most favorite female characters. She embodies so many of the characteristics that I highly admire in heroines. She is strong-willed, courageous and admirable. She will always choose to do the right thing even if it costs her her life. She is the glue that holds together the entire group during the darkest of times.

Quite obviously, when I found out that a new addition to her story had been released on Netgalley, I was positively ecstatic! This novella was just as amazing as the first. The series of events in this novella take place shortly after A Reaper of Stone. I was glad to read about Con again as I took quite a liking to him in the first segment. Aldis’s character is one that was written cleverly. I wasn’t sure if to trust him or not. He has the type of persona that is difficult to measure due to some of his actions. I found him to be a fascinating addition to this segment.

The villains that Elinor’s group encountered were exceedingly deviant and bad-tempered. I compared them to being the equivalent of ticking time bombs, because you just never knew when they were going to blow up. Undoubtedly, this contributed greatly to the foreboding feel of the book. I felt the anxiety, pressure and apprehension that the characters were experiencing. The final battle was heart pounding in all of its thrills and scares. I wanted desperately for my favorite characters to be victorious. I applaud the authors in being able to get me so emotional over the wellbeing of Elinor and her crew. I love just how fast-paced the action scenes were. It was almost as if I was actually there on the battleground.

I cannot wait to read the next book!

Final Verdict: 5 stars!

Buy link:

Amazon

Add to your TBR:

GoodReads

Leave a Reply

