Review of “Find Her” by Lisa Gardner


25644437

Synopsis:

Flora Dane is a victim.

Seven years ago, carefree college student Flora was kidnapped while on spring break. For 472 days, Flora learned just how much one person can endure.

Flora Dane is a survivor.

Miraculously alive after her ordeal, Flora has spent the past five years reacquainting herself with the rhythms of normal life, working with her FBI victim advocate, Samuel Keynes. She has a mother who’s never stopped loving her, a brother who is scared of the person she’s become, and a bedroom wall covered with photos of other girls who’ve never made it home.

Flora Dane is reckless.

. . . or is she? When Boston detective D. D. Warren is called to the scene of a crime—a dead man and the bound, naked woman who killed him—she learns that Flora has tangled with three other suspects since her return to society. Is Flora a victim or a vigilante? And with her firsthand knowledge of criminal behavior, could she hold the key to rescuing a missing college student whose abduction has rocked Boston? When Flora herself disappears, D.D. realizes a far more sinister predator is out there. One who’s determined that this time, Flora Dane will never escape. And now it is all up to D. D. Warren to find her.

Review: (As always, spoiler-free!!)

I have mentioned this numerous times before, but I believe it’s worth repeating yet again. I LOVE Lisa Gardner – absolutely love her!! She is an automatic buy for me. If I see something with her name on it then I will purchase it without even reading the blurb first. I own over a dozen of her novels in paperbacks/hard covers and have never been the least bit disappointed by any of them. As a matter of fact, I think every book I’ve read of hers has been a 5 star read for me. Find Her was no exception. Pure gold!

I came across this novel on Netgalley and, as aforementioned, I didn’t even read the blurb. I saw her name and knew I had to have it! I went into the novel blind. Sometimes, I think it’s fun to not know what a book is about and unfold the storyline with each page. It didn’t take long before I was hooked!! I found it impossible to put down this book!

Lisa Gardner is a master at crafting an intricate web of suspense and capturing your attention from the onset! The introduction, the middle, the ending – all of it was written with such perfection and at such an amazing pace that it never got boring or repetitive. It maintained my interest all throughout.

I have read other books revolving around D.D Warren and love the way her character is portrayed. She is a strong-willed, hardworking detective who can be a bit rough around the edges, but that aspect only makes me like her even more!

I adored Flora! I sympathized with her pain and couldn’t help but hope there was a happy ending for her after everything she had endured during her kidnapping. I think that there may be some people who might find her behavior infuriating, but I saw it as a young woman trying to find her place in the world after such horrible circumstances.

The sequence of events were done in an incredibly realistic way that I actually got chills imagining it all in my head. I think this novel would make a great movie!

As it usually is with the other thrillers that I’ve read from Lisa Gardner, I had no idea how it would end. I came up with a thousand different theories, but hadn’t anticipated the ending at all!! Even more the reason to love this book! Most of my favorite novels are those that catch me completely by surprise.

I think it’s pretty obvious from my review, but I highly recommend Find Her to those of you who love a good thriller!

Final verdict: 5 stars!

Buy link:

Amazon

Add to your TBR:

Goodreads

 

 

Leave a Reply

