Review of “This is War, Baby” by K. Webster


28094098.jpg

Synopsis:

My life had a plan. Until he invaded it and stole it all away. My captor took me and I became a pawn.

His strategy changed and he sent me away to WAR, because money is everything in this world.

In my WAR, though, I found peace.

I couldn’t help but find love where I least expected it, with a man who lived a battle every day of his life
…all inside his head.

But then my captor came back for me.
Yet, this time, battle lines had been drawn and I was protected.

So we thought.
Even though my WAR was raging,
my captor would fight to the death.

The good guys always win, right?
Not always.

All’s fair in love and WAR, right?
Not this time.

***WARNING***
This is War, Baby is a dark romance. A really dark one. So dark you’re going to wish you had a flashlight to see yourself to the end and someone to hold your hand. Human trafficking, dubious consent, and strong sexual themes that could trigger emotional distress are found in this story. This story is NOT for everyone.

Review: (Spoiler-free as usual!) 

I started this book late last night and stayed up until the early morning hours finishing it! You see that warning right up there? ^ Yeah, she wasn’t kidding! This is DARK! Some people might find some of the events to be very disturbing so definitely heed the advisory especially if you’ve never read a dark romance before. I, personally, love them so I’m not sure what that says about me lol.

We get to see three different points of view.

  1. Baylee
  2. Gabe
  3. War

Baylee is a 17 year old girl who is living the typical teenage lifestyle. She is having fun, enjoying her youth and experiencing new things. Unfortunately for her, she is then kidnapped by Gabe. Gabe is a man in his 40s who does things to her that are absolutely unimaginable and is driven by his greed. Some of the things he did to her had me cringing! She then ends up in the hands of War – a character who is a complete conundrum. Is he good? Is he bad? At first, it’s hard to tell, but it’s immediately apparent that something isn’t quite right with him.

This book was fantastic!! I was honestly expecting the typical dark romance trope that I’ve read many times before, but got so much more than that. It was unique and well-written. It stands out among all the rest. Did I mention how I couldn’t put this book down? I read it all in one sitting.

The characters were so dynamic and enthralling that I was engrossed in the entire storyline from beginning to end. Especially one character who I may have fallen madly in love with… Try guessing who that could possibly be. Be warned, it does end in one hell of a cliffhanger, but thankfully the second book has already been released. I absolutely must get my hands on the second book to find out what happens next!

Final Verdict: 5 stars!!

Special thanks to K. Webster and the publisher for approving my request to read this book through Netgalley! 🙂

Buy link:

Amazon

Add to your TBR:

Goodreads

Leave a Reply

