Review of “La Douleur Exquise” by JR Rogue


27207519

Synopsis:

What happens when you meet
your soul mate at the wrong time?
What happens when you meet
your soul mate but you aren’t theirs?

Review: 

This short book contains a series of short poems. Most of the poems tend to revolve around the same theme: unrequited love. La Douleur Exquise translates to “The Exquisite Pain” which is definitely notable within these pages.

Cover:

First, let me begin by showing my love for that gorgeous cover! The only complaint I have of it is the fact that the words aren’t that visible due to the font color. The words blend in a bit too much, but the rest is very beautiful.

Characters:

These poems are being told through an unknown narrator. I don’t know if this is a personal recount from the author herself or if it is done in a creative  fictional method. Regardless, I found the narrator’s words to express the pain of wanting someone that will never want them back in the same way. It also expressed just how much the narrator would still want to try to be with that person even knowing that those attempts are futile and their relationship is headed for a dead-end.

Final Verdict:

This poetry book has many great ratings so I may just be in the minority, but I wasn’t really feeling the poems. I think the very last poem which was heart-wrenching was the only one that stood out the most to me and incited the most feelings among all of the rest. Some of the poems are just…okay in my honest opinion. I didn’t find them to be all that memorable. I guess I had high expectations because I follow this author on Instagram and absolutely love the poems she posts on there. These just didn’t have that much of an emotional effect on me when compared to those on her Instagram page. Don’t get me wrong, she’s a fantastic writer but I found her poems in this book to be of a lesser caliber than the others I’ve seen of hers.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Buy link: (I got this through Kindle but for some reason only the paperback is available now)

Amazon

Add to your TBR:

Goodreads

Leave a Reply

