Review of “Black Lies” by Alessandra Torre


22471294

Synopsis:

Brant:
Became a tech billionaire by his twentieth birthday. Has been in a relationship with me for 3 years.
Has proposed 4 times. Been rejected 4 times.

Lee:
Cuts grass when he’s not banging housewives. Good with his hands, his mouth, and his cock. Has been pursued relentlessly by me for almost 2 years, whether he knows it or not.

Go ahead. Judge me. You have no idea what my love entails.

If you think you’ve heard this story before, trust me – you haven’t.

Review:

This book has been recommended to me so many times that I have officially lost count. I am a huge fan of Alessandra Torre as I have read several of her books. I had purchased this book back when it first came out, but for some reason I hadn’t gotten around to reading it. It might have a little to do with the fact that I have hundreds upon hundreds of books in my TBR lol. Well, I finally read it and it was not at all what I expected, but I still ended up really enjoying it! Let’s break it down!

Characters:

We are introduced to three main characters.

  1. Brant is someone akin to a boy genius. At a very young age he was already an innovator of a form of technology that ended up making him filthy rich. He is handsome and charming, but clearly a highly intelligent individual.
  2. Layana is a young woman who was born into a high class family. To the naked eye, it would appear that she has everything she could wish for. However, once you start to peel the layers you’ll see that she isn’t nearly as happy as the face she shows to the other socialites. She craves adventure and freedom, but finds it nearly impossible to attain it while living under the strict and watchful eyes of her ultra conservative parents.
  3. Lee is the exact opposite of Brant. He is an enigmatic stranger who immediately attracts Layana’s attention from the onset. He is arrogant and cocky, but Layana is hooked and can’t seem to be able to drop him.

Plot:

It is incredibly difficult to give you a rundown of the plot without spoiling it for you so I am going to be very vague. When I first began to read this book I thought it would be a typical love triangle novel. I was not expected to get a book that would leave my mind spinning from one hell of a plot twist! I was not expecting to be blown away by the cleverness of this story. Therefore, I highly suggest not getting anywhere near spoilers because this book is worth every second of anticipation and shock that Alessandra worked so hard to convey.

Final Verdict:

I was left reeling once the plot twist unfolded before my eyes. I thought it was done brilliantly and that alone is worth the read! Plus, it’s Alessandra Torre! She’s a literary genius and everyone should have the opportunity to read one of her books at least once!

Rating:

4.5 stars out of 5!

Buy link:

Amazon

Add to your TBR:

Goodreads

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

