Review of “The Woman in Blue” by Elly Griffiths


25897794

Synopsis:

In the next Ruth Galloway mystery, a vision of the Virgin Mary foreshadows a string of cold-blooded murders, revealing a dark current of religious fanaticism in an old medieval town.

Known as England’s Nazareth, the medieval town of Little Walsingham is famous for religious apparitions. So when Ruth Galloway’s druid friend Cathbad sees a woman in a white dress and a dark blue cloak standing alone in the local cemetery one night, he takes her as a vision of the Virgin Mary. But then a woman wrapped in blue cloth is found dead the next day, and Ruth’s old friend Hilary, an Anglican priest, receives a series of hateful, threatening letters. Could these crimes be connected? When one of Hilary’s fellow female priests is murdered just before Little Walsingham’s annual Good Friday Passion Play, Ruth, Cathbad, and DCI Harry Nelson must team up to find the killer before he strikes again.

Review:

This novel started out pretty interesting after Cathbad witnessed a woman dressed in a white gown and blue cloak late at night. He immediately assumes it’s a vision of the Virgin Mary. However, the following morning reveals it to be a much more spine-chilling sight after the woman is found dead in a cemetery.

I really liked the idea behind this book, but I could not, for the life of me, get into it. I found Ruth, one of the main characters, to be quite whiny and condescending. I found myself constantly annoyed at her attitude. I didn’t like her at all.

It is a very slow and somewhat dull mystery novel. I was really hoping this would be thrilling or have me at the edge of my seat, but instead I accidentally fell asleep right in the middle of it lol.

The only characters that I was most fascinated by were Cathbad and the evil cat. I also was really interested in seeing what happened with Tim. They were the reasons I actually kept going instead of calling it quits early on. I was just not invested in most of the main characters.

There are plenty of great reviews for it. I am in the minority so just take my review with a grain of salt. It just wasn’t for me. I will admit that this book is well-written, but it’s a very slow build-up and I found the ending lackluster.

Special thanks to the publisher for approving my request to read this book through Netgalley!

Rating:

2 out of 5 stars!

Buy Link:

Amazon

Add to TBR:

Goodreads 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

