Review of “Infinity + One” by Amy Harmon


Table  of Contents:

  1. Synopsis
  2. Review
  3. Rating
  4. Links
  5. Favorite Quotes

20901080

Synopsis:

When two unlikely allies become two unwitting outlaws, will two unforgettable lovers defy unbeatable odds?

Bonnie Rae Shelby is a superstar. She’s rich. She’s beautiful. She’s impossibly famous. And Bonnie Rae Shelby wants to die.

Finn Clyde is a nobody. He’s broken. He’s brilliant. He’s impossibly cynical. And all he wants is a chance at life.

One girl. One boy. An act of compassion. A bizarre set of circumstances. And a choice – turn your head and walk away, or reach out your hand and risk it all?

With that choice, the clock starts ticking on a man with a past and a girl who can’t face the future, counting down the seconds in an adventure riddled with heartbreak and humor, misunderstanding and revelation. With the world against them, two very different people take a journey that will not only change their lives, but may cost them their lives as well.

Infinity + One is a tale of shooting stars and fame and fortune, of gilded cages and iron bars, of finding a friend behind a stranger’s face, and discovering love in the oddest of places.

Review:

Bonnie Rae Shellby and Infinity James Clyde are two individuals who come from opposite sides of the tracks.

Bonnie is someone who is frequently in the lime light. She is a rich country singer that everyone is familiar with. She loves music and thrives on being able to sing to her heart’s content. However, she has recently reached a point in her career where she is unhappy with the turn her management has taken. She craves solitude and a break from everyone who has slowly destroyed her dream lifestyle.

Infinity, aka Finn, is someone who prefers the quiet life. He is someone who is not exactly living the most ideal life. He has a past that he wishes he could run away from. He is not a man who has lived a life he can be proud of and boast about, but he hasn’t stopped seeking the pursuit of happiness. 

They both meet under unlikely circumstances that bring them to the brink of death. They are both struggling to find some break from all of their problems. Although they cannot stand each other in the beginning, they eventually realize that they have more in common then they originally expected. 

Initially, I was not too content with the characters. The writing was fantastic, but I found myself frequently annoyed by Bonnie. She is someone who certainly brings a whole lot of baggage on her trip with Finn and makes his life a living hell. 

But somewhere along the way, I found myself loving their connection. I realized that under the layers of secrets and depression, there lie two broken individuals who have so many similarities. 

Before I knew it, I was flipping the pages to the point of fracturing my wrist. I couldn’t bring myself to put the book down. It was fantastic! This was my first Amy Harmon book, but it certainly did not disappoint. I have since read other books by her that I have loved more than this one, but it is still one that I would recommend to those seeking a unique and fun spin on the Bonnie & Clyde tale.

Rating:

4.5 out of 5 stars!!

Buy Link:

Amazon

Add to TBR:

Goodreads

Favorite Quotes:

“We’re Bonnie and Clyde! Wanted and unwanted. Caged and cornered. We’re lost and we’re alone. We’re a big, tangled mess. We’re a shot in the dark. We’re two people who have nowhere else, no one else, and yet, suddenly that feels like enough for me!”

“I love you Bonnie. So much that I hurt with it. And I hate it, and I love it, and I want it to go away, and i want it to stay forever….”

“I don’t want to be without you, Bonnie! Don’t you get that? I am in love with you! I’ve known you for one week. And I’m in love with you! Crazy, drive-off-a-cliff-if-you-asked-me-to, in love with you. But I don’t want to drive off a cliff! I want to live with you! Do you want that? Or do you still think about jumping off bridges and going down in a hail of bullets?”

“And in her reverence of his skin, he felt that shame wither and curl, like paper on a flame, and float upward, disintegrating into nothing more substantial than ash, and with her breath, she blew it all away.”

“And in that moment, I realized I was starving and had been for a long time. I was starving. Hungry for companionship, affection, connection. And strangest of all, hungry for Finn Clyde.”

“Then she’d looked at him, and Finn saw something he’d seen on a thousand faces in the last six and a half years. Beat-down, hopeless, finished, blank. It was a look he had battled in his own reflection.”

Leave a Reply

