Review of “Slammed” by Colleen Hoover


Table of Contents:

  1. Synopsis
  2. Review
  3. Rating
  4. Links
  5. Favorite Quotes
  6. Soundtrack

IMG_0181.JPG

Synopsis:

Following the unexpected death of her father, 18-year-old Layken is forced to be the rock for both her mother and younger brother. Outwardly, she appears resilient and tenacious, but inwardly, she’s losing hope.

Enter Will Cooper: The attractive, 21-year-old new neighbor with an intriguing passion for slam poetry and a unique sense of humor. Within days of their introduction, Will and Layken form an intense emotional connection, leaving Layken with a renewed sense of hope.

Not long after an intense, heart-stopping first date, they are slammed to the core when a shocking revelation forces their new relationship to a sudden halt. Daily interactions become impossibly painful as they struggle to find a balance between the feelings that pull them together, and the secret that keeps them apart.

Review:

Well, it’s been a long time since I’ve gotten my heart shattered by a book so I suppose I was due for one. This book was beautiful beyond words. I absolutely adored it. Sure, it made me cry a bajillion times throughout the entire novel, but there was just no way I could even put it down.

I love Lake and Will. I love how complicated yet beautiful their romance is. There were certain elements in Slammed that I hadn’t expected, but it just made the whole experience even better.

It was lyrical and multi-dimensional. This novel is as unique as one can possibly be with it’s beautiful poetic slam contests. 

This book tore me apart and slowly pieced me back together again. Now I’m asking myself why on earth I waited so long to read it when I had a signed copy sitting on my bookshelf for so long.

Rating:

5 out of 5 stars!

Buy Link:

Amazon

Add to TBR:

Goodreads

Favorite Quotes:

“Don’t take life too seriously. Punch it in the face when it needs a good hit.

Laugh at it.”

“So you keep your ocean, I’ll take the Lake.”

“I got schooled this year by a boy.

A boy that I’m seriously, deeply, madly, incredibly, and undeniably in love with.
And he taught me the most important thing of all…

To put the emphasis
On life .”

“There are three questions every woman should be able to answer yes to before they commit to a man. If you answer no to any of the three questions, run like hell.”
[…]
“Does he treat you with respect at all times? That’s the first question. The second question is, if he is the exact same person twenty years from now that he is today, would you still want to marry him? And finally, does he inspire to be a better person? You find someone you can answer yes to all three, then you’ve found a good man.”

“Sometimes in life, we need a few bad days in order to keep the good ones in perspective.”

 

Soundtrack:

The Avett Brothers – Salina

“I’m as nowhere as I can be

Could you add some somewhere to me?”

The Avett Brothers – Gimmeakiss

“It won’t take long for me to tell you who I am.

Well you hear this voice right now. Well that’s pretty all I am.”

The Avett Brothers – I Would Be Sad

“But I can tell by watching you that there’s no chance of pushing through.

The odds are so against us. You know most young love, it ends like this.”

The Avett Brothers – Ill With Want

“I am sick of wanting and it’s evil how it’s got me.

And every day is worse than the one before.”

The Avett Brothers – Paranoia In B Flat Major 

“I keep tellin’ myself that it’ll be fine.

You can’t make everybody happy all of the time.”

The Avett Brothers – Living Of Love

“Your heart says not again. What kind of mess have you got me in?

But when the feeling’s there it can life you up and take you anywhere.”

The Avett Brothers – Tin Man

“You can’t be like me, but be happy that you can’t.

I see pain but I don’t feel it. I am like the old Tin Man.”

The Avett Brothers – The Perfect Space

“I wanna have friends that will let me be.

All alone when being alone is all I need.”

The Avett Brothers – Slight Figure Of Speech

“A slight figure of speech. I cut my chest wide open.

They come and watch us bleed. Is it art like I was hoping now?”

The Avett Brothers – Die Die Die

“She puts her hands against the life she had.

Living with ignorance, blissful and sad.

But nobody knows what lies behind the days before the day we die.”

The Avett Brothers – Swept Away

“Who cares about tomorrow? What more is tomorrow than another day?”

The Avett Brothers – Paranoia in B-Flat Major

“With paranoia on my heels, will you love me still when we awake and you see that the sanity has gone from my eyes?”

The Avett Brothers – All My Mistakes

“Shooting off vicious collections of words.

The losers make facts by the things they have heard and I find myself trying hard to defend them.”

The Avett Brothers – Ten Thousand Words

“And I know you need me in the next room over,

but I am stuck in here all paralyzed.”

The Avett Brothers – Once and Future Carpenter

“Forever I will move like the world that turns beneath me.

And when I lose my direction, I’ll look up to the sky.

And when the black cloak drags upon the ground I’ll be ready to surrender, and remember, well, we’re all in this together.

If I live the life I’m given, I won’t be scared to die.”

The Avett Brothers – Complainte D’vn Matelot Mourant

“…”

The Avett Brothers – Murder in the City

“If I get murdered in the city don’t go revenging my name.

One person dead from such is plenty. No need to go get locked away.”

The Avett Brothers – Laundry Room

“Close the laundry door.

Tiptoe across the floor.

Keep your clothes on. I got all that I can take.

Teach me how to use the love that people say you made.”

The Avett Brothers – Ten Thousand Words

“Ain’t it like most people. I’m no different.

We love to talk on things we don’t know about.”

The Avett Brothers – Talk On Indolence

“Well I’ve been locking myself up in my house for some time now.

Reading and writing and reading and thinking and searching for reasons and missing the seasons.

The Autumn, the Spring, the Summer, the snow.

The record will stop and the record will go.

Latches latched the windows down, the dog coming in and the dog going out.

Up with caffeine and down with the shot.

Constantly worried  about what I’ve got distracted by work, but I can’t make it stop and my confidence on and my confidence off.

And I sink to the bottom I rise to the top and I think to myself that I do this a lot.

World outside just goes it goes it goes it goes it goes it goes…”

The Avett Brothers – If It’s The Beaches

“Don’t say it’s over cause that’s the worst news I could hear.

I swear that I will do my best to be here just the way you like it.

Even though it’s hard to hide. Push my feelings all aside.

I will rearrange my plans and change for you.”

The Avett Brothers – When I Drink

“My parents taught me to learn when I miss. Just do your best. Just do your best.”

 

Leave a Reply

