Review of “The Gender Game” by Bella Forrest


31131467

Synopsis:

A toxic river divides nineteen-year-old Violet Bates’s world by gender.

Women rule the East. Men rule the West.

Welcome to the lands of Matrus and Patrus.

Ever since the disappearance of her beloved younger brother, Violet’s life has been consumed by an anger she struggles to control. Already a prisoner to her own nation, now she has been sentenced to death for her crimes.

But one decision could save her life.

To enter the kingdom of Patrus, where men rule and women submit.

Everything about the patriarchy is dangerous for a rebellious girl like Violet. She cannot break the rules if she wishes to stay alive.

But abiding by rules has never been Violet’s strong suit.

When she’s thrust into more danger than she could have ever predicted, Violet is forced to sacrifice many things in the forbidden kingdom … including forbidden love.

Review:

I have read other books by Bella Forrest in the past and I did enjoy them well enough so I thought I’d give this one a try when I saw it on Netgalley.

As soon as I read the title, I thought that it would be similar to The Hunger Games or some carbon copy of it, but I was pleasantly surprised to see how unique it is. I don’t think I’ve read a book with this particular premise before.

Violet Bates is a 19 year old girl who has found herself in a lot of bad situations since she was very young. She lives in a society where men rule one area and women rule the other. There is no equality to be found in either one. Neither choice would be a pleasant one to live in unless one gender is perfectly willing to submit to the opposite gender.

Now, the issues I had with this book are not THAT bad, but they were enough to knock some points off. For instance, Violet really got on my nerves at times. Typically, a person learns from their past experiences and becomes wiser and more diligent. Violet, on the other hand, happens to find herself in sticky situations repeatedly. She just makes so many mistakes that it drove me nuts. This girl has been in trouble with the law and has been incarcerated. Shouldn’t that mean she has gained street smarts or something? Eh not really.

Another thing that bothered me was that there were parts that were pretty slow. I think that it could have been edited more instead of nearly 700 pages long.

Besides those aforementioned reasons, this started off really good and I was thoroughly invested in the story line. The first few chapters are very fast which I loved! I liked that at the beginning it didn’t feel as if it was going to take a long time to read this book. If those few parts that are slow could be edited out or rewritten then I think this would be a good, fast read.

Nonetheless, it’s a very interesting plot and some sequences happen in this book that I never would have seen coming or that I have ever read in other books. I do think people should give it a shot, because it’s so unique and just because it wasn’t my favorite – I still am glad that I got the chance to read it.

Special thanks to the author and publisher for approving my request to read this book through Netgalley!

Rating:

3 stars out of 5!

Buy Link:

Amazo

Add to TBR:

Goodreads

Favorite Quotes:

“In many ways, being imprisoned had been the best thing that could have happened to me.”

Soundtrack:

(coming soon)

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I’ve never heard of this book or this author until now… The plot sounds really interesting though! I’m gonna have to check it out. Nice review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Victoria says:

      Thank you so much! I hope you enjoy it! 🙂 It’s also free on Kindle Unlimited in case you have a subscription and would like to download it that way. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I do have Kindle Unlimited! That’s great, thank you!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Victoria says:

        Awesome! You’re welcome! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

