Review of “Bad Mommy” by Tarryn Fisher


31415712

Synopsis:

When Fig Coxbury buys a house on West Barrett Street, it’s not because she likes the neighborhood, or even because she likes the house.

It’s because everything she desires is next door: The husband, the child, and the life that belongs to someone else.

Review:

Phew! I’m not quite sure how to even begin my review. I have found myself at a crossroads where one side of me has so much to get off my chest (mainly expletives) yet the other side of me is still speechless over the content.

Bad Mommy is written in three different POVs. However, it’s very easy to follow along since there is no back-and-forth dialogue. Instead, Tarryn separated each POV into three different parts of the book which worked out perfectly for me. We get to see into the mind of the creepy ass stalker, the neighbor and the writer.

The barnyard whore pie stalker made me feel all sorts of homicidal. Seriously, I had to walk away from my kindle to try to calm myself, because that chick was practically begging for someone to use her as target practice. Every single time she showed up I knew that shit was about to go down and she’d be so psychotic and masochistic that she’d enjoy every second of the pain she caused.

tumblr_inline_mf7cieblfG1qltqg1.gif

Let me just tell you that the things that Fig does, the extent that she goes to, will absolutely blow your mind. There is no rhyme or reason to her erratic behavior or to the acts she carries out. She is quite simply an envious, demented, basket case who is in desperate need of frequent approval and attention. She is craving the life and popularity that the writer has to the point that she decides she wants to actually BECOME her.

giphy.gif

This book is written in such an absorbing way that it makes it difficult to put down. This is a story that takes place over quite a lengthy amount of time which gives you a good idea of how obsessed Fig is with destroying the one person she idolizes more than anyone else. I highly recommend it! Tarryn’s writing is phenomenal as usual and her words carry such conviction behind them that it made me question whether or not I actually knew a person like Fig in my own personal life.

As I pondered over every single person I’ve ever met, I creeped my own self out and now I have swiftly gone into denial territory. I’m totally fine with people like Fig not noticing my measly existence. Especially someone like Fig. She’s just…and I can’t…and ugh…

tumblr_lmn2h3zkj71qafrh6

Bottom line: this book is awesome. It will make you uncomfortable and you may even question your own sanity at times. Read it not just because I recommend it, but because it really is worth your time.

Rating:

5 out of 5 stars! 

Buy Link:

Amazon

Add to TBR:

Goodreads

Favorite Quotes:

“I see you getting things you don’t deserve, living it up.

It fucking sucks.

I feel resentful because I deserve it more than you do.

I could be a better you…

“I can make you part of something great and beautiful

and still portray you as the ugly thing you are.”

“The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately sick; who can understand it?”

“All she does is wear masks.

You could search for years

and you still won’t be able to know who that woman is,

because she doesn’t know herself.

And that’s exactly why she’s obsessed with you.”

“Women told a story with their eyes.

And if you watched closely enough you could translate:

the shimmer, or the blank deadness, the slow blinks, and the fast ones.

A story…a screen of emotion.”

“There was no real agony, I realized.

It was all self-inflicted. Suffering made her feel important.”

“She was a chaotic darkness

who dressed up as the light.

A deceiver.”

“I needed to tell the world about Fig.

Fig and her empty, jealous heart. 

Fig, always the victim even when she betrayed you. 

Fig, who hurt people because she hated herself so very much.”

“She toyed with his loyalty to me by siding with him

and painting me as the big, bad wolf.

I was starting to wonder who was in control of our lives at this point.

It most certainly didn’t feel like us.”

Soundtrack:

Wreck by Mieka Pauley

“I wanna wreck your home
I wanna get your husband alone
he hasn’t met the happiest place on earth
I wanna wreck your home

Oh tomorrow night
he will be burning as he flips off the light
he will be burning as he sleeps out the door
he loves your first but why he loves me more.”

I See the Devil in You by Sandi Thom

“No sense in stealing at the price of honesty

The troubles build one by one

Fighting uncertainty

Do I surrender my safety?

For one throw of the dice

I’d be a fool to believe there’s nothing to hide

Say it’s not true

I see the devil in you.”

Closer by Nine Inch Nails

“Help me, tear down my reason.

Help me, it’s your sex I can smell.

Help me, you make me perfect.

Help me become somebody else.”

I Saw Red by Warrant

“My heart just spilled onto the floor,

And I didn’t need to see his face,

I saw yours.

I saw red when I closed the door.

I don’t think I’m gonna love you anymore.”

The Hills by The Weeknd

“I only call you when it’s half past five.

The only time that I’ll be by your side.

I only love it when you touch me, not feel me.

When I’m fucked up, that’s the real me.

I only fuck you when it’s half past five. 

The only time I’d ever call you mine.”

Leave a Reply

